Still Searching for Inchworm…

Yesterday, some observant readers who read the link noticed, as did I, that the Maine Warden Service wanted to talk to Postman, as well as some other AT hikers in connection to Inchworm’s missing status. Walker called this morning and although we had a terrible connection – and were disconnected six times – I was able to tell him that there were no real updates on her status, and that the authorities wanted to talk to Postman. Walker asked me to call them and let them know that he and Postman both saw Inchworm last Sunday morning. She was on the trail with her husband George, who was hiking a portion with her.

I called and they were appreciative for the information, but unfortunately didn’t have any further updates.

About The Man in My Shoes

Since retiring in 2012 I am enjoying the freedom of being able to make my own decisions about how I spend my time and am taking advantage of the opportunities that I have to spend more time with my family, explore, learn, and pursue my dreams and goals. I look forward to writing about these pursuits and hope you enjoy reading about them.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Still Searching for Inchworm…

  1. Jennifer Narron says:

    This is so sad. Praying for her!!!

  2. Debbie says:

    Sure hope and praying they find her!

  3. Lyndsay sacre says:

    That’s very worrying, I really hope they find her soon.

  4. Lots of folks looking for her vial helicopter, horseback, hikers, atvs. Keep checking reports but no word yet.

  5. hutchins47 says:

    Congrats on Katahdin!

    I’m Google-Earthing, still thinking about Inchworm. (I live in Maine, and I’m a 66-year-old female hiker, too) Between Poplar Ridge and Spaulding shelter -where she has to be – I see (from 2011) a very large and confusing-looking clear cut. Do you remember how hard it was to navigate that clear cut? Could she have gotten lost there?

    Could she have met with some black trail magic on Railroad Road, just near there? It’s so odd that there’s no sign of her!

    • In my opinion Maine was the easiest state to navigate on the entire AT. The Maine ATC has done a terrific job with signage, marking blazes, and with maintaining the trail. So I don’t think navigation would have been a problem for Inchworm.
      There are several unimproved road crossings in that section of the trail so foul play is certainly a possibility in her disappearance and I am sure law enforcement officials are looking into that.
      Yes, it is very odd that there’s no sign of her and I cannot understand why she was not found. The search was extensive and included tracking dogs which should have been able to pick up her scent. I am really sad about the whole situation.

      • hutchins47 says:

        Thank you for that. I’ve never hiked that stretch of trail, but you”re right; the AT is very well marked in Maine. It’s too bad it had to happen.

        I’m going hiking in that area next month. Think I’ll get some pepper spray.

        Congratulations again. You’re still young enough to do the PCT next year! 😉

Leave a comment