Happy 2015!

Happy New Year, everyone! My #1 resolution for the New Year is to journal more and that includes trying to write at least one new blog post on The Man in My Shoes each month. I usually feel like I don’t have enough interesting things going on to write about, but that’s probably not true. 2014 was a great year with a great trek with Cathy on The Camino de Santiago, a fun hike in Vermont with Whiskers and his students, many days spent in the mountains near my home in southwest Virginia, and great times spent with my family, especially my two grandsons Jackson and Liam.

J&L are with us today and we’re going to do our first hike of 2015 close to home, on either the Chessie Trail or the Woods Creek Trail. They are full of energy and love to be outside so we’ll have some fun today.

Jackson and I went fishing a couple of days ago and didn’t catch anything but had fun exploring along the edge of the pond in our neighborhood. In previous posts I’ve mentioned my interest in getting kids outside to play and enjoy the outdoors and I’ve been doing that a lot with J&L for the past couple of years. As they get older it gets even easier!

In 2015 I want to add more paddling and fishing to my outdoor activities since we have such great waterways here in Virginia and in Florida where J&L live. Cathy and I have planned an extended visit to Florida this year and I look forward to exploring the creeks, rivers and sounds around Amelia Island as well as the nature trails in the area. I may even try fly fishing which is something I’ve been interested in for many years but only tried once – that’s a funny story for another blog post.

Here’s a photo of Jackson climbing a big boulder after our recent fishing expedition.

My fishing buddy.

My fishing buddy.

One final thought…the New Year is a good time to remember old friends and acquaintances and just this morning I found this article about Inchworm, the AT thru-hiker who I met in 2013, shortly before she disappeared while hiking in Maine. It’s the most detailed article I’ve read about Inchworm and provides an excellent update on what they’re now calling her ‘cold case’. It is good to see that the Maine Warden Service has not given up the search and the state search coordinator, Lieutenant Kevin Adam, plans to continue the search in the late spring when the snow melts.  How could a woman just vanish?

About The Man in My Shoes

Since retiring in 2012 I am enjoying the freedom of being able to make my own decisions about how I spend my time and am taking advantage of the opportunities that I have to spend more time with my family, explore, learn, and pursue my dreams and goals. I look forward to writing about these pursuits and hope you enjoy reading about them.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Happy 2015!

  1. Jan Philbin says:

    Hi Tim, So glad you are resuming your writings. It is so interesting to hear about Inchworm – what a thorough report and hard to believe that they haven’t found her – that would make a good movie. We just saw “Wild” last night and thought of you! Happy New Year to you and Kathy! Jan Philbin

  2. Annette King says:

    HAPPY NEW YEAR TO YOU AND YOUR PRECIOUS FAMILY. It is great that Poppie is continuing teaching J&L the Nature Priniciple(s)…….a lifetime gift of wonderful experiences and memories.

  3. Tara Miller says:

    Happy New Year, Tim and Cathy! Thanks for sending the very comprehensive article on Inchworm; what a mystery. I’m heartened that so many are still thinking of, and searching for, her. Let’s hope the new year brings some resolution.

  4. Steve Grist says:

    Tim, so wonderful to receive your update. And I am so interested in the story on Inchworm. Just puzzling. Wishing you and your family all the best in 2015!

  5. MarySue Curran says:

    Thank you so much for the informative article.  I did not personally know Inchworm but was thinking of her the other day and wondered if the powers that be were doing anything.  Thank you.  Really appreciate it From: The Man in My Shoes To: curran1350@yahoo.com Sent: Thursday, January 1, 2015 8:56 AM Subject: [New post] Happy 2015! #yiv3750376706 a:hover {color:red;}#yiv3750376706 a {text-decoration:none;color:#0088cc;}#yiv3750376706 a.yiv3750376706primaryactionlink:link, #yiv3750376706 a.yiv3750376706primaryactionlink:visited {background-color:#2585B2;color:#fff;}#yiv3750376706 a.yiv3750376706primaryactionlink:hover, #yiv3750376706 a.yiv3750376706primaryactionlink:active {background-color:#11729E;color:#fff;}#yiv3750376706 WordPress.com | The Man in My Shoes posted: “Happy New Year, everyone! My #1 resolution for the New Year is to journal more and that includes trying to write at least one new blog post on The Man in My Shoes each month. I usually feel like I don’t have enough interesting things going on to write abo” | |

  6. ealburtus says:

    Hey, Tim! I am really glad you sent out an update. As a quick reminder, you walked with my son, a friend and I over Mt. Washington a couple of summers ago. (I included a picture below just to jog your memory.) I particularly appreciate you sending along the article about Inchworm; Ben and I have talked about her and wondered what has happened since. He and I just read the article together.

    I am glad you are doing well. Ben just finished his first semester at the University of Michigan. Sadly he could not join Craig and me on our hike last year, though I hold out hope for this year. This June Craig and I will be out for 8 or 9 days, going from northern Mass and getting somewhere into New York. Just know that you are always invited if you would like to go out for a few days; we would love to have your company.

    In friendship, as always, eric

    [image: Inline image 1]

    On Thu, Jan 1, 2015 at 8:56 AM, The Man in My Shoes wrote:

    > The Man in My Shoes posted: “Happy New Year, everyone! My #1 > resolution for the New Year is to journal more and that includes trying to > write at least one new blog post on The Man in My Shoes each month. I > usually feel like I don’t have enough interesting things going on to write > abo”

    • Hey Eric, It’s great to hear from you. Of course I remember you, Ben and Craig. Spending a little time with you was one of the highlights of my hike. Glad to hear that Ben is enjoying life at Michigan. He’s a fine young man and I know you’re proud of him. I would love to hike with you and Craig again – and Ben if he can make it. I wish you’d come spend a week or so hiking the AT in Virginia. It’s one of my favorite parts of the trail and fortunately it’s right in my backyard.
      Take care, Tim

Leave a Reply

