Day Nine – To Buchanan Shelter

Today we hiked eleven miles through a thick forest with lots of maple trees and pines. There was some climbing in big rocks but we were not above the tree line like we were yesterday on Mount Mansfield.
We had one incredible overlook at Harrington Viewpoint with a view all the way back to Mansfield. It was amazing to see how far we had walked.
Other than that the hiking part of the day was pretty standard. We arrived at Buchanan Shelter at 4:00, set up camp and had an early dinner. Jukebox started a campfire and now were enjoying sitting around the fire, talking and waiting for bedtime. I know everyone will sleep well tonight.
Tomorrow we have a short hike of seven miles and then we’re going to spend the night in Burlington. Everyone is excited about visiting town and Burlington is supposed to be a very nice town.
Here are a couple of photos from today.

20140904-180520.jpg

20140904-180745.jpg

20140904-180756.jpg

About The Man in My Shoes

Since retiring in 2012 I am enjoying the freedom of being able to make my own decisions about how I spend my time and am taking advantage of the opportunities that I have to spend more time with my family, explore, learn, and pursue my dreams and goals. I look forward to writing about these pursuits and hope you enjoy reading about them.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Day Nine – To Buchanan Shelter

  1. buddyjohnson1 says:

    You guys will love Burlington It reminded me of a smaller Charlottesville with a great big lake I stayed in a AYH a quarter mile after finishing and really enjoyed my time in town

    Happy trails!!!

  2. Annette King says:

    Great photos! I look forward to seeing photos of the town of Burlington. Having never been to Vermont, it is very nice to see your photos. Glad you had such a good hike today….best wishes for tomorrow’s hike and visit to the town.

  3. JANICE says:

    We are enjoying your blog and it’s great to be able to keep up with what the students, and granddaughter Ella are experiencing. What a great trip. Thanks, Walt & Jan McGrail

Leave a Reply

