On the Road Again…

Image

Well it’s been almost five months since I finished hiking the Appalachian Trail and it’s about time to get moving again. While I was hiking the AT the Princess rented out our house to a visiting professor at a local college and we will be homeless from today (February 1st) until May 24th. So we’re leaving our home in Lexington and heading to Richmond for quick one-nighter in Richmond to visit our son and his wife, then on to Fernandina Beach, Florida. Hopefully we’ll get there in time to watch the Super Bowl commercials and maybe even catch some of the game.

In Fernandina we’ve rented a small house near our daughter and her family and we’ll be getting in lots of grandparenting for the next couple of months. In our ‘spare time’ we’ll be training for another walk of the Camino de Santiago, this time from Lisbon, Portugal to Santiago de Compostela, Spain. In 2012 we walked the route from Saint Jean Pied de Port to Santiago and this year we’re going to tackle the shorter (383 miles) Camino Portuguese which starts in Lisbon.

Our training will consist of lots and lots of long walks with some cycling and gym work thrown in for good measure. From our previous Camino experience we know that putting in a lot of road miles in advance will make the miles on the Camino much more pleasant. Hopefully this time blisters will not be such a problem. Thankfully my feet are pretty much blister-proof but the Princess suffered a lot, along with about 90% of the other pilgrims.

So we’ll be enjoying the milder weather in Florida as we train for the Camino Portuguese. I’ll try my best to keep you up to date on our Camino preparations and anything else that seems worth writing about. 2014 is off to a great start!

About The Man in My Shoes

Since retiring in 2012 I am enjoying the freedom of being able to make my own decisions about how I spend my time and am taking advantage of the opportunities that I have to spend more time with my family, explore, learn, and pursue my dreams and goals. I look forward to writing about these pursuits and hope you enjoy reading about them.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to On the Road Again…

  1. lmconnors says:

    Best of luck. It is indeed a great way to start the year. Don’t brag too much about that Florida weather! 😉

    Sent from my iPhone

    On Feb 1, 2014, at 6:40 AM, The Man in My Shoes wrote:

    WordPress.com The Man in My Shoes posted: “Well it’s almost five months since I finished hiking the Appalachian Trail and it’s about time to get moving again. While I was hiking the AT the Princess rented out our house to a visiting professor at a local college and we will be homeless from today (“

  2. Gigi says:

    As I read your email I am watching the movie My Way with Martin Sheen. (What a small world) The movie provides the hike on the Camino what beauty. Great movie .
    Enjoy the Florida sunshine and the grand babies!

  3. Annette King says:

    Jim and I will be following you all the way via your blog. Have wonderful times in all of your and Cathy’s adventures along the way.

  4. Annette King says:

    I just want to add that your photo link about feet blisters is not a photo of Cathy’s feet. She has the prettiest feet this side of the Mississippi. Just so you know.

  5. Andy says:

    @ Annette, – I recognize those lovely feet, they’re mine.

    @ Tim, what date are you starting in Lisbon? I’m thinking of spending a couple of Months in Far East, but still up in the air.

  6. David Hansen says:

    Look forward to keeping up with the adventures.

    Best,

    Dave

    David J. Hansen, J.D.

    Portfolio Manager

    Davidson & Garrard

    Lexington Office:

    15 North Randolph Street

    Lexington, VA 24450

    Tel: 540-464-9100

    Fax: 540-463-9105

    Email: dhansen@dg-g.com

    E-mails sent to or from this contact will be recorded by the Davidson & Garrard, Inc. compliance system and are subject to archival, monitoring, and/or disclosure to someone other than the recipient.

    This message and any attached documents contain information which may be confidential. These materials are solely for the use of the intended recipient. If you are not the intended recipient of this transmission, you are hereby notified that any distribution, disclosure, printing, copying, storage, modification or the taking of any action in reliance upon this transmission is strictly prohibited. Delivery of this message to any person other than the intended recipient shall not compromise or waive such confidentiality. If you have received this communication in error, please notify the sender immediately and delete this message from your system.

  7. I really like what you guys are usually up too. Such clever
    work and coverage! Keep up the amazing works guys I’ve included you
    guys to my blogroll.

Leave a Reply

