Fit for the Adventurous Life!

IMG_1124

The Princess found an article for me that is really perfect for my outlook on fitness at this point in my life. I want to stay really fit so that I can continue to have some great travel adventures and this article is about maintaining a high level of fitness as we get older. I hope that you find this useful for your own life. Here’s a link to the article.

 

 

About The Man in My Shoes

Since retiring in 2012 I am enjoying the freedom of being able to make my own decisions about how I spend my time and am taking advantage of the opportunities that I have to spend more time with my family, explore, learn, and pursue my dreams and goals. I look forward to writing about these pursuits and hope you enjoy reading about them.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Fit for the Adventurous Life!

  1. Marlene Jordan says:

    Tim and Kathy, I hope I ‘did this’ right in order to respond…but this article is so interesting and oh how it hit home!! I have said many times…70 was the downfall for me!…I thought maybe it was the ‘caretaking ‘ role I was living but now I know it was more than that…The little bit of exercise I got was from walking which I gave up during that time! I now feel like Tania Harding ‘s boyfriend whacked both MY knees!! Like the guy in the article..it is bone on bone but I will get surgery this summer as I can barely walk now! I am wondering why this author chose NOT to have the surgery? I feel I have no choice …if I want to continue to walk………Being inactive because of the pain has been like a catch 22 as I have gained even more weight which hinders the knees…….This article has inspired me to get in a good exercise program after the surgery…Thanks again, Marlene

  2. Steve Grist says:

    Thanks, Walker. Improving my diet has been a goal of mine for a long time. This will inspire me!

    BTW, have you read the book on the Paleo diet? A friend gave it to me several years ago, and it all makes sense. I recommend it if you haven’t already seen it.
    Best wishes,
    Steve

    • Steve, My diet is definitely my weakness. I’m working on that too. I have heard of the paleo diet but don’t know much about it. Cathy and I both are trying to eat more fruits and vegetables and less processed food.

  3. E C Regan says:

    Thanks for this Tim, it’s a really interesting article which I’ve forwarded to Tony. Well done to Cathy for finding it, I hope she’s following the same regime!! With warmest wishes to you all, Eileen xoxoxoxo

  4. Farm To You says:

    Tim, Thanks for the article! I’m so glad at people are discovering that fat (good fat, of course!) is highly beneficial. Want to lose weight? Get rid of all the no fat, low fat stuff in the fridge and start eating whole food. Hope this makes more people think about it. Tara

    Farm To You

    All local, all the time!

    637C Waddell Street

    Lexington, VA 24450

    540-460-2990

    http://www.farmtoyoulex.com

    farmtoyou@hotmail.com

    Eat locally year round!

    Shop Hours: Tuesday through Friday, 2:00 to 5:00

    Like Farm To You? Like us on Facebook!

    _____

  5. Annette King says:

    Good for you, Walker. This is such helpful information and from an expert who practices what he preaches. This man chose not to have surgery on his knees, but he is staying fit doing activities that are just as good as running if not better for the whole body. Man, I would sure love to eat more peanut butter. I am working on losing some weight after gaining pounds over the last year, and at my age it is slow going, but today I weighed 1.2 lbs lighter than I did three weeks ago. As a lifetime member of Weight Watchers, hey, that is progress! 🙂

  6. David Hansen says:

    Thanks Tim! Great stuff! I want that to be me! Are you going to take up the riding part?

    Interesting on the low carb/high fat. Are you trying that? Got to like the biking and intervals.

    I switched from the weightlifting work I was doing almost exactly a year ago because I had gained weight, and it was wearing me out my knees, and I felt pretty bad and could not really play tennis or squash.

    I switched to Ashtanga yoga (a very dynamic approach) (focusing on the primary series), a year ago, and it has been a long road but I feel MUCH better. I am able to be playing tennis again, and want to add in cycling when the weather improves. Flexibility and core strength way up and have lost weight.

    Have great travels, and best to Cathy!

    Best,

    Dave

    David J. Hansen, J.D.

    Portfolio Manager

    Davidson & Garrard

    Lexington Office:

    15 North Randolph Street

    Lexington, VA 24450

    Tel: 540-464-9100

    Fax: 540-463-9105

    Email: dhansen@dg-g.com

    E-mails sent to or from this contact will be recorded by the Davidson & Garrard, Inc. compliance system and are subject to archival, monitoring, and/or disclosure to someone other than the recipient.

    This message and any attached documents contain information which may be confidential. These materials are solely for the use of the intended recipient. If you are not the intended recipient of this transmission, you are hereby notified that any distribution, disclosure, printing, copying, storage, modification or the taking of any action in reliance upon this transmission is strictly prohibited. Delivery of this message to any person other than the intended recipient shall not compromise or waive such confidentiality. If you have received this communication in error, please notify the sender immediately and delete this message from your system.

    • Dave,
      I have taken up riding. I bought a bike back in September and was riding a couple of times per week until it got too cold. I should be able to ride daily in Florida. I’m still working on the diet part – that’s my weakness – and I think I might give the low carb diet a try. I need to do a little more research on that.
      Something that has helped me a lot in the past four months is that I joined the Y and started doing the Body Pump classes three times per week. I’ve never been one for group fitness classes but I thought I’d give it a try and I have had great results. Body Pump uses very low weights and very high reps so it doesn’t build a lot of muscle mass but it does develop strength and endurance. I’m going to continue with it at the Y in Florida. Ashley likes it too so we’ll go together.
      Let’s do some cycling when I get back!
      Tim

  7. Doug Dowdy says:

    Tim

    Thanks to Princess for the article! I don’t see myself ever becoming as active as the writer of the article or you, the article does serve as a good reminder to keep moving.

    Going for a walk,

    Doug

    Doug Dowdy Phone 540-255-6017 dougdowdy@mindspring.com

    >

Leave a Reply

