On the Trail Again! … (but not for long)

Well, I do miss being on the trail but now I have the ideal situation – I can be home with the Princess and still be able to do day hikes in the local area. Yesterday I drove about 25 minutes to where the AT crosses Route 60 at Long Mountain Wayside and started one of my favorite hikes up to Cold Mountain. About an hour into the hike I came upon this humongous rattlesnake laying right in the middle of the trail.

Image

I can’t believe that I hiked 2185.9 miles on the AT and didn’t see a single poisonous snake. Now the first hike I do back home I come across this monster. I’m not very happy about that! I hoped that it would move off the trail but apparently it liked that spot because it didn’t budge, even after I tossed some small rocks and sticks at it. It just laid there flicking its forked tongue…daring me to try to get past it. If you know me well, you know that I hate snakes and I was not at all interested in trying to get past it, so after taking this photo I turned around and hiked back to my truck. You can bet that I watched my step very carefully all the way back!

We have a hike planned for Sunday in the Shenandoah National Park and the Princess and I look forward to seeing our friends from the Rockbridge Community Hikers and enjoying the scenery in the park. I’ll be happy to let others take the lead on the hike so I don’t have to be the one spotting snakes!

About The Man in My Shoes

Since retiring in 2012 I am enjoying the freedom of being able to make my own decisions about how I spend my time and am taking advantage of the opportunities that I have to spend more time with my family, explore, learn, and pursue my dreams and goals. I look forward to writing about these pursuits and hope you enjoy reading about them.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to On the Trail Again! … (but not for long)

  1. Annette says:

    So, you don’t want to be the expert snake spotter. That was a mighty big rattler…..you did the right thing, Walker. It must have felt good to get some hiking in today.

  2. This is when the walking stick comes in handy. Huge snake!

  3. Gummi Bear says:

    Hey walker! It’s Gummi Bear. Was searching for info on Inchworm and your name and blog popped up on whiteblaze. Just wanted to say congratulations and happy hiking:)

    • Thanks, Gummi Bear, and congratulations to you! I enjoyed meeting you and sharing the trail with you. It’s such a shame about Inchworm. I know you spent some time with her and liked her a lot. I hope to attend her memorial in Atlanta in October. Take care, Walker

Leave a Reply

