Adjusting to Life Off the Trail

I’ve been back home for four full days now and I have to say I am enjoying having so many options of ways to spend my time. I have been gardening, working out, reading, grilling, watching a little TV (mostly ESPN), and helping Princess with some of her reclaimed furniture projects.

That being said I do miss the trail and am already looking forward to future backpacking trips. I don’t want to do any more really long hikes, unless the Princess goes with me, but I am interested in shorter trips like the 220-mile John Muir Trail in California and of course I will hike the AT near my home in Lexington, Virginia. Hiking the trail made me appreciate the state of Virginia even more than I did before. It’s a diverse state with lots of beautiful mountains and great hiking trails.

Whiskers&RocketOur friends and my hiking partners for much of the trail, Whiskers and Rocket, finished on August 7th and they posted some great photos on Facebook which brought back a lot of good memories.  Here’s their Katahdin summit photo. I first met W&R at the Aquone Hostel south of the Nantahala Outdoor Center in North Carolina. I ran into them again in Virginia and we hiked together off and on from Virginia to New Jersey. The Princess and I really love them and hope to see them in the not-too-distant future.

PostmanHere’s my friend Postman’s summit photo. Isn’t it great! Postman is a fantastic hiker and although I can’t keep up with him mile-for-mile, we were together off and on from Siler Bald in North Carolina (where I came upon him sitting beside the trail) to Stratton, Maine where we hitchhiked to the trail head and he took off to catch up to his long-time hiking partner Buffalo, who can keep up with him. Postman is a really friendly and intelligent young man who will go far in life. Postman summitted Katahdin on August 2nd. Unfortunately I didn’t get to see him there, just missing him by two days.

Lady GreyFinally, here’s Lady Grey’s summit photo. We hiked together in New York and Connecticut until she jumped ahead to New Hampshire. (She had already hiked Massachusetts and her home state of Vermont). Lady Grey is a high school counselor and a very strong hiker. She has a terrific blog at http://www.trailjournals.com – just search for Lady Grey from the home page. I followed her blog after she jumped to New Hampshire to pick up tips on what the hiking would be like ahead of me.

After reflecting on my Appalachian Trail experience, here are a few initial thoughts:

– I am very pleased and thankful that I was able to meet the challenge that I set for myself. I feel a great sense of accomplishment about fulfilling my dream of thru-hiking the AT.

– The weather has an enormous effect on my outlook and enjoyment of various sections of the trail. For instance, the great weather in Maine makes it one of my favorite states, even though it was physically very tough.

– I missed the Princess and the rest of my family a lot and I doubt that I will do another long hike, unless the Princess does it with me. So I hope there is another Camino in our future!

– The scenery along the Appalachian Trail is beautiful but after seeing a million (or more) trees you can begin to take it for granted…until you hike above treeline or to an overlook where you get a breathtaking view.

– The people you meet along the trail make all the difference. Pig Pen, Oxy, Whiskers and Rocket, Postman and Buffalo, Lady Grey, Inchworm, Tin Cup, Isaac, Eric, Craig, and Ben, and others are people that I will always remember and I will be very happy to see any of them in the future.

That’s all for now but I hope to write a few more posts and the whole AT experience sinks in!

About The Man in My Shoes

Since retiring in 2012 I am enjoying the freedom of being able to make my own decisions about how I spend my time and am taking advantage of the opportunities that I have to spend more time with my family, explore, learn, and pursue my dreams and goals. I look forward to writing about these pursuits and hope you enjoy reading about them.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Adjusting to Life Off the Trail

  1. Gigi Jordan says:

    THANK YOU FOR GIVING LIFE TO THE TRAIL WITH UR FANTASTIC STORYTELLING BLOG! KEEP WALKING & BLOGGING WALKER WITH PRINCESS BY UR SIDE.America is staying tuned in : )

  2. David Hansen says:

    Hi Tim!

    Welcome back! Keep it coming. We’re hooked now! I hope we can see you and the Princess soon, maybe with the Grists?

    All the best,

    Dave

    David J. Hansen, J.D.

    Portfolio Manager

    Davidson & Garrard

    Lexington Office:

    15 North Randolph Street

    Lexington, VA 24450

    Tel: 540-464-9100

    Fax: 540-463-9105

    Email: dhansen@dg-g.com

    E-mails sent to or from this contact will be recorded by the Davidson & Garrard, Inc. compliance system and are subject to archival, monitoring, and/or disclosure to someone other than the recipient.

    This message and any attached documents contain information which may be confidential. These materials are solely for the use of the intended recipient. If you are not the intended recipient of this transmission, you are hereby notified that any distribution, disclosure, printing, copying, storage, modification or the taking of any action in reliance upon this transmission is strictly prohibited. Delivery of this message to any person other than the intended recipient shall not compromise or waive such confidentiality. If you have received this communication in error, please notify the sender immediately and delete this message from your system.

  3. Annette says:

    What I’ve been waiting for – your posting on The Man in My Shoes. You had a wonderful adventure with life-long memories, and we, your followers, had a great adventure, too, just by reading your story every day. I’m looking forward to more postings as you reflect back on the Appalachian Trail. It’s nice to see photos of some of your hiking comrades’ victory poses atop Mt. Katahdin.

  4. Deb Van Schaack says:

    Just read this now, Walker… thanks for the shout out! I’m with you, the views fade from my memory but not the people and the amazing experiences along the way. Please make sure you let us know if you’re ever up this way. Perhaps Yestermorrow in your future? All the best – Lady Grey

  5. Haley says:

    Are you aware that a hiker known by the trail name “Inchworm” went missing on the Appalachian Trail here in Maine? She’s a 66 year old woman, originally from Brentwood, TN. The authorities are still looking for any information from people who might have seen her before she disappeared. The number to call if you have any info is: Public Safety Dispatch Center Augusta at 207-624-7076

Leave a Reply

