Seems Like Old Times

Princess here…I’m currently enroute to meet Walker in Maine. I’m very excited for our reunion! As I was preparing to leave the house yesterday, my mind went back to the old days when I would be getting ready to welcome him home from a long Navy deployment. The house is about as clean and tidy as it gets – the kind of condition that makes you want to go to a hotel so it will stay that way! (Which is what I did.) Back in the day, everything would be pristine and then he would come home with his all of his stuff that reeked of diesel fuel and other shipboard smells. How quickly it went from pristine to normal. I’m wondering what the smells will be like this time after four months of dirt and dampness without regular washings for either his clothes or himself. Oh well, I’ll take normal anyway!

It’s generally a given that when a spouse deploys, something – or lots of things – will go wrong at home. A child gets very sick, the washer springs a leak, the car breaks down…you can imagine. I was really fortunate that things went pretty smoothly at home since Walker’s been away. The only thing I couldn’t personally fix was a piece of flashing that blew off our house in a storm. Other than that, the incidents were all animal related. Our dog Sophie, who we brought back from Bulgaria with us, is 13. She’s taken to biting people’s feet and wasn’t nice to our neighbor or Walker’s mother. I took her to the vet and he said she has dementia. I don’t think this is dementia related, but one night after our walk when I had left the garage door open, she saw a possum under the car, chased it out, and killed it quite quickly. When she saw/heard my reaction, she dropped it in the driveway and came in the house with me. I really didn’t want to deal with it, and lucky for me, something carried it away in the night. A few days ago I had the hose out and inadvertently sprayed a little in the flower bed and a baby bunny hopped out across the driveway, and Sophie, who will barely budge for anything, jumped up and caught that bunny in her mouth before I could do a thing. Yuck! And she wouldn’t put it down despite my best attempts. I finally went in the house. She came to the backdoor trying to get in, wagging her tail…she was so proud. I turned my back on her and a few minutes later she was back, without the bunny. I couldn’t find it anywhere. When I dropped her off at the kennel yesterday, I told the owner that she may have eaten a baby bunny. He said, “Well, if she poops something shaped like the Easter bunny, we’ll know.”

The other incident was in the form of another small animal…a mouse who had taken to visiting the kitchen at night. When he was bold enough to stare me down from the top of the trash can one night, I decided enough was enough. I hate those springy traps that wake you in the middle of the night when they snap, so I devised my own trap and put a tall cup with a 1/2 inch of laundry detergent in the bottom. That particular mouse won’t be bothering me again! And yes, I felt a bit guilty, but what’s a girl to do?

I texted with Whiskers and Rocket yesterday. They are about a week behind Walker, but we’re going to meet them for dinner Friday night. They have seen the search parties looking for Inchworm. Still no good news on her, but I read The need for formally trained searchers and the lack of availability of them during the week has prompted the Maine Warden service to organize “an intensified search strategy” for the weekend for missing Appalachian Trail hiker Geraldine Largay.

I also read that her husband, George, said the following…
We started on this adventure, that’s her word, 6 days after our 42 wedding anniversary. She would use a lot of common sense to give herself the best chance of getting rescued. She absolutely would know that I would call in the calvary and throw in everything including the kitchen sink to find her in one piece.

20130731-104959.jpg

About The Man in My Shoes

Since retiring in 2012 I am enjoying the freedom of being able to make my own decisions about how I spend my time and am taking advantage of the opportunities that I have to spend more time with my family, explore, learn, and pursue my dreams and goals. I look forward to writing about these pursuits and hope you enjoy reading about them.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Seems Like Old Times

  1. Steve Grist says:

    You are on an exciting trip to pick up The Walker Dude, and I know you are thrilled to be doing so. Now Walker can take over the Sophie-dead-animal-disposal duties, among other things. Please tell Rocket and Whiskers hello from Virginia and I hope their school years get off to a great start. And tell Walker we look forward to having him back in Lex and can’t wait to catch up and hear all the tales of the Trail!

  2. hmmm. Love you post! Will sleep on it tomorrow as it is late!

  3. Jay says:

    Cathie thank you for the update. It is amazing that the hike is almost over. It sounds (reads) like you two have a great marriage and know how to prioritize each other needs.

  4. Annette says:

    You and Tim must write a book together because you are both write so well. What concerns me more is that Maine is just now bringing in the “cavalry” – the specialized search and rescue team this coming weekend. I know many wonderful people have been looking for inchworm, but by this weekend, it will be eleven days since she was last heard from. With all our prayers and hope, it would be a miracle to find her alive and well, but miracles do happen. And, I am still praying for one.

    • Mom, I agree. I think they expected to find her quickly and now that it’s been so long they’re pulling out all the stops. Everyone up here is talking about it because it’s so unusual for a hiker to be missing for so long.

  5. MarySue Curran says:

    Ditto, Annette and thank you Cathy and Tim for all your blogs. They have been SUPER. Happy Reunion!

Leave a Reply

