It’s Walker Checking In From Monson, Maine

Hey, I’ve made it to Monson, Maine, the last trail town and resupply opportunity before the 100 Mile Wilderness and Mount Katahdin. I should do the 100 Mile Wilderness in six days and meet the Princess next Thursday in the late afternoon. Then if all goes well and the weather is good I’ll hike up Katahdin on Friday – a week from today. I can’t tell you how excited I am about that. It just doesn’t seem real!

I thought about something today and how the trail has changed me. When I first started – up until recently actually – I’d get to a trail town and want to get a shower as soon as possible. Now I get to a trail town and make a beeline for the nearest eating establishment. It’s really odd how that has changed and how much food means to me now.

I had a really great trail magic incident yesterday… When I left Stratton I made a mistake with my resupply and was one lunch short. Lunch is normally just a couple of Clif Bars and a couple of Rice Krispies treats. I realized my mistake yesterday morning so I was rationing my food to make it last until I got to Monson today. As I was climbing Pleasant Mountain I came upon a man and a woman who were hiking up for the day to take some photographs. I said “Hello” and they replied, “Would you like some trail magic”? (WOULD I!!!) They gave me two packs of Little Debbie’s Swiss Rolls and three Clif Bars. What great luck for me, just what I needed! Isn’t that amazing? I chatted with them for a few minutes, thanked them profusely and then went on my way.

I’ve had three incidents that I can recall of trail magic that were really crucial. When I had a bad case of poison ivy, I found a tube of Ivarest in a hiker box. When I broke my hiking pole in the White Mountains, I got a spare one that someone had left at Lakes of the Clouds hut. Now this most recent trail magic of three Clif Bars and two packs of Little Debbie’s kept me from going hungry for a day.

Here’s an update on other hikers…Postman and I hitchhiked out of Stratton together a few days ago and I haven’t seen him since. Hopefully he’s caught up to Buffalo. I’ve been around a couple of other good guys, Ned from Wales and his friend Logan (American). They’re good hikers and we’ve been ending up at the same place each night for about the last four or five nights.

I’m staying at Shaw’s Boarding House in Monson and doing all the normal hiker chores. I’m going to double check my resupply this time to make sure I don’t short myself again! Tomorrow morning they have an AYCE breakfast here at Shaw’s and then it’s back on the trail for me.

I doubt that I will be able to communicate between now and Katahdin, so until next weekend you probably won’t hear from me. But I’ll be sure to post as soon as I can and share some photos from Katahdin. In addition to getting the obligatory photo with me standing behind the Mount Katahdin summit sign I will take some photos of my little ceremony for my hiking partner Shorty Jordan. Until then…

 

 

About The Man in My Shoes

Since retiring in 2012 I am enjoying the freedom of being able to make my own decisions about how I spend my time and am taking advantage of the opportunities that I have to spend more time with my family, explore, learn, and pursue my dreams and goals. I look forward to writing about these pursuits and hope you enjoy reading about them.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to It’s Walker Checking In From Monson, Maine

  1. Annette says:

    It is very good to hear from you, Walker. What great Trail Magic just when you needed it. What is an AYCE breakfast? Does that include cereal and eggs? Best wishes for wonderful hiking….you are almost there yet!

  2. Lyndsay sacre says:

    Good luck for the last stretch, you must be feeling energized now…. We are on our way to the US west coast, California. Then to Seattle and Vancouver, we will be back in Europe by the time you are done.

  3. David Hansen says:

    Have a great last leg Tim! Will be thinking of you!

    All the best,

    Dave

    David J. Hansen, J.D.

    Portfolio Manager

    Davidson & Garrard

    Lexington Office:

    15 North Randolph Street

    Lexington, VA 24450

    Tel: 540-464-9100

    Fax: 540-463-9105

    Email: dhansen@dg-g.com

    E-mails sent to or from this contact will be recorded by the Davidson & Garrard, Inc. compliance system and are subject to archival, monitoring, and/or disclosure to someone other than the recipient.

    This message and any attached documents contain information which may be confidential. These materials are solely for the use of the intended recipient. If you are not the intended recipient of this transmission, you are hereby notified that any distribution, disclosure, printing, copying, storage, modification or the taking of any action in reliance upon this transmission is strictly prohibited. Delivery of this message to any person other than the intended recipient shall not compromise or waive such confidentiality. If you have received this communication in error, please notify the sender immediately and delete this message from your system.

Leave a Reply

