Friday’s Report from Walker

Walker called from Rangeley Lake early this evening during a bad storm. I could hear the thunder over the phone. He was safe and sound in a hotel, in “quite a nice room” for $45.00. Hmmm…I think his standards may have changed a bit. He had dinner with Postman who you may recall from his earlier posts. Postman acquired his name because he always hikes in shorts. He had to take some time off the trail for medical reasons but he’s been back on for a while and is walking quite fast – or putting in long days – or both. Postman is trying to catch up with Buffalo who is one day ahead. Walker thinks they will reach Mt. Katahdin a day earlier than he will, but perhaps I will have a chance to meet them around the town.

Walker had to buy a new pair of shoes today. The brand new pair he started wearing on July 4 only lasted two weeks. He said the rocky terrain wasn’t easy on them, but I’m thinking they should have lasted longer. He bought them at REI and they have a very generous return policy, but Walker doesn’t want to carry them and it’s not convenient to ship them.

He hitchhiked successfully today for the second time on his journey. Another hiker told him to stick out his thumb on one hand while waving the other hand. He tried it, and it worked on the third car. The couple who picked him up were on their way to visit their daughter and grandchildren. It was an eight or nine mile ride to town, so he was very grateful. The desk clerk at the hotel is going to give him a ride back in the morning.

He expects to be at Saddleback on Saturday, and Stratton on Sunday. Stay tuned…the end is near!

About The Man in My Shoes

Since retiring in 2012 I am enjoying the freedom of being able to make my own decisions about how I spend my time and am taking advantage of the opportunities that I have to spend more time with my family, explore, learn, and pursue my dreams and goals. I look forward to writing about these pursuits and hope you enjoy reading about them.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Friday’s Report from Walker

  1. Lady Grey says:

    Congrats, Walker on making such good progress! I’m in Monson and am zeroing today before entering the 100 Mile Wilderness tomorrow. Hope to summit Katahdin on 7/28, which seems hard to believe. Wishing you good weather and strong legs for the remainder of your journey. All the best to you! By the way, I turned 56 four days after you, on July 14…

  2. lmconnors says:

    I am always impressed! And I think it is great that you will meet Walker at the finish. Enjoy!

  3. Annette says:

    Thanks Princess for posting. Those were some rocks/boulders that wore out Walker’s new shoes in two weeks. I hope he will hike out of the stormy weather up that way and into sunny weather all the way to Mt. K. You must be counting the days and hours!

Leave a Reply

