Trapper John’s to Ore Hill

I got an early start yesterday for a twenty mile hike that had some good climbs. I wasn’t the first one out if camp though. About an hour into the hike I caught up to the family of hikers who I had met the day before at the shelter. They are from Pennsylvania and are hiking the New Hampshire section of the AT this summer. I don’t think they made it all the way to Ore Hill because I didn’t hear them come in. I should see them later today at the Hikers Welcome Hostel though. That is my destination for the day and it’s only seven miles seat. So I’ve got an easy day today with plenty of time to do laundry, organize my gear, resupply and rest my legs to start the White Mountains tomorrow. Also I will pick up a package at the hostel that the Princess sent to me with some warmer clothes and a few other items. It’s hard to imagine needing warmer clothes because yesterday was very hot and humid. In fact I was so hit after hiking that I couldn’t even stand to cook a hot dinner so i just ate some food that didn’t require cooking. But the weather in the Whites can be cold, even in July so I’ll need the warm clothes.
The highlight of the day was hiking up Smart’s Mountain and it was a long hard climb. The reward was a great view from the Fire Tower at the top.
I camped last night at Ore Hill which does not have a shelter, just a Privy, a spring, and places to set up tents. The shelter was burned down in the fall of 2011 and there’s a sign on the trail requesting any information about who might have burned it down.
It rained a little bit last night and I slept really well. I’m finally at the point where I can sleep in the tent as well as I can in a bed. I finished reading ‘A Farewell to Arms’ last night. It was a good story and it’s considered one of the ‘great books’. I would like to read some critiques and analysis of it to see what makes it such a great book. Next I’m reading a Bill Bryson book about Shakespeare. Bryson also wrote ‘A Walk in the Woods’ about hiking the Appalachian Trail. I think it is being made into a movie.
I’m going to get going now and head to the hostel. Here are pictures of the Pennsylvania family and some rocks with Smart’s Mountain in the background.

20130706-083750.jpg

20130706-083804.jpg

About The Man in My Shoes

Since retiring in 2012 I am enjoying the freedom of being able to make my own decisions about how I spend my time and am taking advantage of the opportunities that I have to spend more time with my family, explore, learn, and pursue my dreams and goals. I look forward to writing about these pursuits and hope you enjoy reading about them.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Trapper John’s to Ore Hill

  1. MarySue Curran says:

    When I vacationed in Vinal Haven, Maine (about 1 1/2 hours by boat East from Rockport, Maine), the one thing I noticed was the “smooth” rocks or boulders there. I had never seen this before. This must have been what the Ice Age did to this part of our country, but not southern Massachusetts.

  2. Jeff Morgan says:

    Hi Walker,

    You may already know this, but Bill Bryson lives in Hanover NH.

    Jeff, the Trail Magic hiker from PA, my girl friend Jackie made the day for you at Wind Gap

  3. Annette says:

    It is interesting that you have become accustomed to sleep as well on the ground as you can in a bed. Yes, the shooting of “A Walk in the Woods” is to start in September with Robert Redford as Bill and Nick Nolte as Schultz. Robert Redford seems a bit old for the part, but he is producing it so he can pretend he is thirty years younger if he wants to. I hope the film has all the humor that Bill Bryson wrote in his book. I bet The Princess will have included a surprise in the package you pick up today at the hostel. Have a great day!

  4. Kurtz3 says:

    Walker!

    We are glad to see that you are deep into Maine. Actually, we thought you’d be at Katahdin by now! For a week after we saw you, we’d comment to one another, “I imagine Walker is probably in the 100-mile Wilderness by now” (while we climbed Mt. Washington) or “Walker ought to be in Millinocket by now” (while we descended into Gorham). Needless to say, you’re name is appropriate, as you are an impressive walker, but we are also happy to see that you slowed down a little to enjoy the Whites (which were simply astonishing).

    It was great meeting you. Continue to enjoy your journey,

    The Kurtz3

Leave a Reply

