Hikers Welcome Hostel

One of the guys who works here at the Hikers Welcome Hostel just told me that I have 398.5 miles to go to reach Mount Katahdin. It’s hard to believe! His trail name is ‘Legion’ and he thru-hiked the AT in 2011. Then he did the Pacific Crest Trail last year and plans to do the Continental Divide Trail next year. He’s really enthusiastic about long distance hiking and says I’ve got some great days ahead of me in the Whites and in Maine.
I’ve taken an easy day today – only 7.5 miles – and I’ve showered, done laundry, gone through the box of clothing and other goodies that The Princess sent me, organized my pack, and gone over the trail guide, my map and other notes about hiking in the White Mountains.
I feel well-prepared for the Whites and am eager to get started. In fact I almost decided to pack up and go after being at the hostel for a couple of hours but I resisted the temptation and will stay here to give my body an easy day and eat a good dinner. I have been thinking that I need to really enjoy these last two states, especially since this is supposed to be the most beautiful part of the trail. So I’m not going to rush through to the end.
Later today the hostel folks will take us in to Warren, about five miles away, for dinner. I don’t need to resupply now after all the snacks that The Princess sent me and I plan to go into the town of Lincoln on Monday. So I’ll do a resupply there. There are a couple of outfitters there and I need to get a fuel canister for my stove.
Tomorrow Mount Moosilauke and a fourteen mile hike to the Eliza Brooke Shelter.
Here’s a phot of Legion and two of the hostel, one with a nice rock cliff in the background.

20130706-150240.jpg

20130706-150253.jpg

20130706-150305.jpg

About The Man in My Shoes

Since retiring in 2012 I am enjoying the freedom of being able to make my own decisions about how I spend my time and am taking advantage of the opportunities that I have to spend more time with my family, explore, learn, and pursue my dreams and goals. I look forward to writing about these pursuits and hope you enjoy reading about them.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Hikers Welcome Hostel

  1. Annette says:

    Glad you had a good day, good food and then soon a good night! At book club today, a hiker has been enjoying following you on your blog, and another member pulled your blog up on his IPad to find your list of equipment since he is in the process of buying the newest and lightest gear for his upcoming hike in Yosemite Park. Finally, we got around to discussing the chosen book of the month, “Garbology: Our Dirty Love Affair with Trash” by Edward Humes. The author is speaking at our Library in September. Your post card of beautiful Vermont arrived today….a happy surprise. Best wishes for hiking in the White Mountains.

Leave a Reply

