July 4th in New Hampshire

I had a great first day in New Hampshire. I woke up early but took my time getting packed up and enjoyed a couple of cups of coffee and some doughnuts I had purchased at the general store.
There was a lot of July 4th news on the local television channels. The security at the Boston Pops annual July 4th extravaganza was going to be really strong and it was getting a lot of coverage. It’s the first big public event in Boston since the bombing at the Boston Marathon and everyone is on high alert. I hope it goes well.
I left the Norwich Inn at 7:00 and started the road walk to Hanover. Norwich was pretty quiet but there was a truck with some guys putting American flags on the telephone polls on Main Street.
I soon crossed over the Connecticut River and entered New Hampshire. Hanover was also pretty quiet with only a few cyclists and runners out on the streets. I wandered through town, saw the Dartmouth campus and found the place I was looking for – Dunkin’ Donuts. It wasn’t a full size DD, just a small one that was part of a gas station and convenience store. The had some special Fourth of July Boston Creme donuts so I got a couple to go. I found a nice park bench in the middle of town and enjoyed my own little July 4th celebration…eating my special doughnuts.
The trail was good today and the weather was warm and humid. I met thru-hiker Gummi Bear, section hiker Worn Heel, and during my lunch break I met a local day hiker, Eric Shirley. Eric and I talked for a long time about the AT. His son is a Marine in Afghanistan and is interested in thru-hiking the AT when he completes his service.
I made it to Trapper John Shelter by 4:30 and set up my tent. A father arrived with his teenage daughter and son and I enjoyed talking to them. They are hiking the New Hampshire section of the AT this summer and have hiked other states in previous summers.
I ate dinner, read and went to sleep early as usual. There was a brief thunderstorm shortly after dark.
Today as I was walking I thought of all of the places our family has celebrated the Fourth of July: Coronado, Newport, Sofia, Lexington, The Outer Banks – I’m probably missing someplace. We’ve had a lot of fun Fourths but this time we’re all in different places and it seems a little strange. Next year I hope that we can all be together.
Here are some photos from the day.

20130705-051318.jpg

20130705-051331.jpg

20130705-051347.jpg

About The Man in My Shoes

Since retiring in 2012 I am enjoying the freedom of being able to make my own decisions about how I spend my time and am taking advantage of the opportunities that I have to spend more time with my family, explore, learn, and pursue my dreams and goals. I look forward to writing about these pursuits and hope you enjoy reading about them.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to July 4th in New Hampshire

  1. Annette says:

    Those July the Fourth parades in Coronado were the best. Paul Stillwell and his wife were here today for lunch….a happy surprise visit while they are in So CA to meet their son’s fiancee’s parents. Paul asked about you and Steve and all the family. Love those patriotic donuts and all the photos. Hope today was a great day for you.

  2. Jay says:

    Tim just so you know, my mom is following your hike along with my Dad’s sister. Below is the email she sent to your mother-in-law about the enjoyment she gets from reading your blog every morning: (I agree on the book. The house that we bought in Harpers Ferry came with a copy of the book 🙂 )

    I just want Tim to know how very much I appreciate this Blog…I talked to Shorty’s sister recently and she said she had a BIG folder on Tim and Shorty’s Hike!! 🙂 She looks forward to reading them as much as I…………I have decided that if I am ever in a fox hole, I want Tim in there with me! 🙂
    By the way the book Tim mentions in today’s blog is a good one….A Hike in the Woods by Bill Bryson…I don’t read many books but I read that one several years ago and loved it as it had a lot of humor in it…Jackie I think you would like it!
    It is going to be lonesome around here once he finishes the trail as I usually have Breakfast with Tim each day! Thanks so much for the company!! 🙂 Marlene

Leave a Reply

