Last Day in Vermont!

As I mentioned in my previous post I started the day by removing about twenty slugs from the tent and from my shoes, which I keep outside the tent in the vestibule of the rain fly. The slugs on the tent are easy to thump off with my finger but the ones in my shoes have to be picked out. It’s a pretty slimy job! I do have hand sanitizer with me so I can clean up afterwards.
I ran into two other northbound thru-hikers today which was a real treat. First I caught up with Dundee who is also recently retired. We had met down south early in the hike but neither of us could remember where. That’s two retired guys for you, isn’t it.
We stopped at a road crossing for a minute to check our directions and who should pop out of the woods but Buffalo, this time without Postman. I’ve mentioned before that I first met Buffalo on my third night on the trail at the Blue Mountain Shelter in Georgia. I’ve been seeing him off and on since Harper’s Ferry with his hiking partner Postman who I also met early in the hike. I asked Buffalo about Postman and he said he had gotten behind due to problems caused by all the rain, mainly chafing. He hoped to reconnect with him soon.
We all walked to the West Hartford Village Store and had snacks. I had my first Starbucks Frappacino of the trip, an apple fritter, a chocolate chip muffin, and a couple of Rice Krispies Treats for the road. We ate and talked then continued hiking. Buffalo and Dundee were going to Hanover and I was stopping in Norwich to stay at the Norwich Inn. It’s a great place to stay with a very good rate for hikers. They have their own brewery and they only sell the beer at the restaurant and pub at the inn. It’s pretty unusual to be so exclusive!
I checked in a little before 1:00 and did my normal town chores – drying out all of my gear, hand washing clothes in the sink, and shopping for groceries at the general store next door. (Today I even set up my tent in the room and turned the a/c on full blast to dry it out.)
Then I went to the pub for a big cheeseburger, sweet potato fries and a beer. Hikers get one free beer with their stay at the inn – nice hospitality. Afterward I got a pint of Ben & Jerry’s ice cream from the general store for dessert. (It’s made in Vermont you know.)
Right now I’m sitting in the park across the street from the inn drying my socks on a picnic table. The sun is good here and it’s less embarrassing drying your socks in the park than in the porch of the inn. I haven’t lost all of my manners out here!
Tonight I’ll do some reading and maybe go back to the pub for another meal. Tomorrow I’ll walk the two mile road walk to Hanover where there’s a Dunk ‘n Dine and have a bagel and donut (or two) and check out the town. Then I’ll get back on the trail and hike about twelve miles to a shelter. I’ve got three relatively easy days and then I’ll start going through the White Mountains, probably the biggest challenge of the entire trail.
Tomorrow’s the Fourth of July and I wish you all a ‘Happy Fourth’!
Here are photos or the Norwich and the general store next door.

20130703-190917.jpg

20130703-190929.jpg

About The Man in My Shoes

Since retiring in 2012 I am enjoying the freedom of being able to make my own decisions about how I spend my time and am taking advantage of the opportunities that I have to spend more time with my family, explore, learn, and pursue my dreams and goals. I look forward to writing about these pursuits and hope you enjoy reading about them.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Last Day in Vermont!

  1. MarySue Curran says:

    Happy July 4th to you, also. Again, thank you for your posts and pictures!

  2. Tara Miller says:

    There used to be a place called Molly Moon in Hanover, and there is a classic diner right on Main Street. It’s a sweet little town. I’ve stayed at the Norwich Inn when I lived in Boston and used to spend a lot of time in Vermont. Thanks for the memories. Lots to see in NH — some of our favorite hiking has been in the Whites. Dress warmly; it will be cold and possibly snowing on Mt. Washington.

  3. Annette says:

    Happy July 4th, Walker. Glad you had an opportunity to wash and dry some things. Can’t even think about digging those slugs out of your shoes!!! Talked to Steve this morning and reminisced about your running the Atlanta Peachtree Road Race together in the ’80s. He said there were about 600,000 runners today! And in the rain, too. Have a nice time in Hanover. Remember about broccoli(:)

  4. Bob Gough says:

    O.K., Walker- now you’re heading into my old stomping grounds. . . . . a few comments
    ( i lived in Manchester, NH for 20 years so these were just a stone’s throw away (figuratively, not literally)
    1. Previews of coming attractions- Franconia Notch, Crawford Notch & Pinkham Notch- while admittedly somewhat rugged territory, some of the best hiking anywhere (at least in semi-decent weather)
    2. Mt Lafayette- Have done that hike probably 100 times (last century) from both the Old Bridal Trail & Falling Water Trail going across Franconia Ridge Trail- thankfully you will not be on the Flume Slide Trail!) Back last century (B.T. (before Tara) Franconia & Lafayette was my “go to” place when I was going thru a rough patch. . . .) This was one of the first hikes that Tara & I ever did together πŸ™‚
    3. Guy Waterman, a very avid outdoorsman, died on Lafayette Trail in 2000 Here is link to story: http://www.nytimes.com/2000/02/20/us/guy-waterman-dies-at-67-wrote-books-about-hiking.html
    4. Crawford Path Trail- about a month after our Lafayette hike, Tara’s law firm always took their summer associates on an overnight to Lake of the Clouds Hut. Tara invited me to go along (of course, I was very appreciative.) On the way up to Mt. Washington, the weather took a turn for the worse, with driving rain, high winds, lightning, sleet, hail, and fog (this hike was in July) This is when I realized just how incredible a person (AND woman) she was! Tara did not want to turn back or was not complaining- in fact, she relished the experience. (She ALWAYS has survival gear with us on every hike.) Anyhow, that is when I realized this would change my life.

    Hope this does not fall under the “too much information” category but please enjoy your walk thru The Whites- it is a special place ( at least, to me and also to Tara.) Maybe after we retire? ? ? ?

    As always, the 2 (two) main items are: ENJOY (which you are) and BE SAFE (which you are.)

    Bob & Tara

    • Bob, This is great information! Thanks a lot. I’ve been looking forward to the Whites and now I’m almost there. I’ll be safe and certainly enjoy it there. I’ll keep a close eye on the weather. I know it can change rapidly and get pretty nasty. Thanks again for the comment.

Leave a Reply

