To Killington

I woke up early this morning and was on the trail a little before 6:00, looking forward to climbing Killington Mountain. It did not rain last night so everything was nice and dry.
Killington is a well known ski resort so I looked forward to seeing it. As it turned out the AT did not pass through the ski area but the forest was beautiful and had that wonderful pine scent. Apparently when Hurricane Irene passed through this area in 2011 it did a lot of damage to the forest. Many trees are down and it looks pretty devastated in places. I took some photos that I’ll put at the end of the post.
I saw a few backpackers on the trail today but still no thru-hikers. Where is everyone? Hopefully I’ll run into some in a few days.
It started raining about 10:00 but it was not a hard rain so I didn’t even bother putting on my rain jacket. About 1:00 I decided to stop at the Mountain Meadow Lodge. Jeff from the Green Mountain House had recommended and it looked like a nice place. After checking in I walked the half-mile into Killington for lunch and a few groceries. I spent the rest of the afternoon planning the next few days if hiking and looking ahead to Nee Hampshire. Dinner at the lodge was a nice family style affair with other guests and the owner’s family, many of whom are visiting. One family member is a VMI graduate from the Class of 2006, Tom Collins. He is in the Army now stationed in Louisiana. We enjoyed sharing VMI stories and talking about his classmates and what they are doing now.
Tomorrow I’ll get an early start and hike about 25 miles so that in Wednesday I’ll have a short day into Norwich, my last stop in Vermont.
Here’s a couple of photos of the trail on Killington with the downed trees andphoto from dinner and one with Tom.

20130702-050944.jpg

20130702-050957.jpg

20130702-051009.jpg

20130702-051029.jpg

About The Man in My Shoes

Since retiring in 2012 I am enjoying the freedom of being able to make my own decisions about how I spend my time and am taking advantage of the opportunities that I have to spend more time with my family, explore, learn, and pursue my dreams and goals. I look forward to writing about these pursuits and hope you enjoy reading about them.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to To Killington

  1. Annette says:

    Serendipity strikes again! To meet one of your former students at the Mt. Meadow Lodge recommended by Jim from Green Mt. House, what a surprise that must have been. You are having so many great experiences along your hike. Killington Mt. looks pretty hard hit from the hurricane. Love the photo of you and Tom.

Leave a Reply

