500 Miles To Go

Unfortunately the rain did cause cancellation of the campfire session for the two families camping at Little Rock Pond. I hope the kids weren’t too disappointed.
I was going to wait for a break in the rain to cook my dinner so I did some reading and munched on trail mix. I must have fallen asleep because the next thing I knew it was 11:00 p.m. The rain had stopped but I was too tired to cook so I just had some more trail mix and went back to sleep. I got the best night sleep that I’ve had in the trail.
i woke up at 5:30, had Pop Tarts and BelVita crackers and was on the trail by 6:45. My tent was wet and I tried to get it as dry as I could by wiping it down and shaking it, so it took a little longer than usual to get packed up.
The trail was much better today with beautiful trails through pine forests. At the junction between the AT and the trail to White Rocks Cliff hikers had built a mini forest of cairns. I added my contribution and took photos of the cairns and the AT leading North.
I met a trail maintainer (and thru-hiker) whose trail name is Mrs. Gorp. She was painting blazes on trees and told me that within a few miles I would pass the point where I only have 500 miles to go. When I told her that I am from Lexington, Virginia she said that she knew of an outfitter there that is owned by a thru-hiker. I told that it’s Walkabout Outfitter and the owner is Kirk Miller. Another small world story!
Hurricane Irene did such damage to a portion of the trail that I had to take a detour which involved a three mile road walk. Hopefully they’ll get that section repaired soon because the road walk is no fun.
I ended the day at Governor Clement Shelter and have set up my tent on a soft bed of pine needles under some talk pine trees. I can hear rolling thunder in the distance. Hopefully the rain will miss me tonight. If it does it will be the first day in about a week that I haven’t gotten rained in. June has certainly been a rainy month. I am hopeful that July will be a bit drier.
Tomorrow I start my day by climbing Killington Mountain. It should be beautiful.

20130701-090640.jpg

20130701-090659.jpg

20130701-090713.jpg

About The Man in My Shoes

Since retiring in 2012 I am enjoying the freedom of being able to make my own decisions about how I spend my time and am taking advantage of the opportunities that I have to spend more time with my family, explore, learn, and pursue my dreams and goals. I look forward to writing about these pursuits and hope you enjoy reading about them.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to 500 Miles To Go

  1. Annette says:

    The cairn forest is just stunning……a thousand years from now thru-hikers will wonder about the people who built it. I hope you get drier weather, too, soon. Your forest photos remind me of my favorite book as a child, “The Girl of the Limberlost.” Enjoy the day…..soon to reach the 500 miles to go mark…woo hoo!

  2. I never thought “500 miles to go” would sound like a good thing, but considering how many miles you have behind you i’ really is.

  3. I dislike typos …meant “it really is.”

  4. Jay says:

    Wonderful to read of your process. Thanks again for letting me have a little taste of the trail.

Leave a Reply

