Manchester to Little Rock Pond

First of all I can’t say enough good things about The Green Mountain House hostel and the owner, Jeff Taussig. Everything there is first rate and it is really more like a B&B than a hostel.
Jeff took me to the trailhead at 6:30 so that i could get an early start. It was cloudy but not raining. My first climb was up Bromley Mountain which is a ski resort. It was eery at the top with the ski lift in the clouds and a man cutting the grass with a tractor. The ski lift looked more like a space ship. (See photo.)
The skies gradually cleared and it turned out to be a beautiful day. It’s a Saturday so as you would expect there were quite a few day hikers out on the trail. The trail conditions were still wet but not as bad as the previous two days. At least it was sunny!
At the only road crossing of the day I met a man from Texas who is vacationing in Vermont and staying at the Killington ski resort with his wife. (I will pass close by Killington on Monday and probably take a short side trip to see it.) He was looking at a map at the trailhead and asked me some questions about the various mountains I had climbed and the trail conditions. Tomorrow he plans to do a day hike in the area. Hopefully he’ll have good weather like today.
I’m trying to take extra good care of my feet since they’ve been wet for four days now so today I stopped every five miles to wring out my socks and air out my feet for a few minutes. It was actually very pleasant to take the breaks and it made the twenty miles seem shorter. I’ll probably do the same thing tomorrow.
Tonight I’m camping near the Little Rock Pond shelter. There are no other thru-hikers here. In fact there’s no one in the shelter, just two families with young kids camping in the area near me. It’s nice to hear the sounds of the kids playing. One little boy told me that they’re going to have a camp fire and roast marshmallows. It reminds me of when The Princess and I did that at our house not too long ago with our grandsons, Jackson and Liam. I really miss those boys but I did get to Face Time with them yesterday.
Oops a big rainstorm just rolled in. I hope it passes quickly and doesn’t spoil the campfire session. I’m going to do a little reading now and cook dinner after the rain passes. I’m reading Hemingway’s ‘A Farewell to Arms’ on my Nook. It’s a classic!
Here are some photos from today.

20130630-080848.jpg

20130630-080913.jpg

20130630-080925.jpg

20130630-080943.jpg

About The Man in My Shoes

Since retiring in 2012 I am enjoying the freedom of being able to make my own decisions about how I spend my time and am taking advantage of the opportunities that I have to spend more time with my family, explore, learn, and pursue my dreams and goals. I look forward to writing about these pursuits and hope you enjoy reading about them.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Manchester to Little Rock Pond

  1. twolmo says:

    I’m pretty sure there are no thru hikers there because you are ahead of everyone!

  2. Beth says:

    Wow, it is really beautiful up there! Thank you for the pictures. I can barely wait each day for your updates, I am enjoying them so much.

  3. Annette says:

    The photos really enhance your writing about where you are on the hike. Walking with wet feet in wet socks and shoes is a real hardship on the AT or anywhere for that matter. Glad you’re taking those breaks. I’m not sure, but the purple flower resembles an iris, one of my favorites. Enjoy today and good weather.

  4. Jim Karis says:

    Tim, at the risk of sounding like a worry-wart, I will point out the July 1st issue of “The New Yorker” has an article, “The Lyme Wars” which would persuade everybody to be aware of the darn tick. I remember in one of your blogs you mentioned taking precaution. But I had to mention it being a”ww”. Enjoy your updates very much and wishing you a great time all the way to Maine. Jim

  5. Lyndsay sacre says:

    Hi Tim, I read your blog everyday sometimes I get a bit behind and have two or three days to catch up! You are sounding a bit lonely and homesick today, usually you are very upbeat. I’m wondering how you are going to do when you stop walking, maybe you have to wind down slowly? What do other hikers say about that? Hope your feet get dried out. Good luck, Lyndsay

    • Lyndsay, You’re very perceptive. I think all the rain had gotten me down a bit bit I feel much better after a good no-rain day yesterday. It is lonely for sure. There are just not any other thru-hikers around me right now. That could change in a few days but at this point I’m okay with being alone. I don’t think I’ll have any trouble adjusting after it’s over. Cathy will keep me busy!

Leave a Reply

