Welcome to ‘Vermud’!

It’s not just your normal ‘work in the garden and get muddy kind of mud’. This is thick, sticky, slurping mud that will suck your shoes right off your feet. Vermont definitely deserves its nickname, ‘Vermud’.
Last night a big rainstorm rolled in just as I was finishing dinner at Desperados so I didn’t get to tour the scenic part of Williamstown. Maybe I’ll have a chance to go back there someday and spend more time.
This morning I left HoJo’s at 5:30 and was on the trail by 6:00, which is exactly when the rain started. Fortunately the temperature was very pleasant and it was much cooler than yesterday. When it was raining the mosquitoes weren’t so bad but when the rain stopped the mosquitoes came out. I’ll take the rain over mosquitoes any day!
And then there’s the mud…I would say that at least 50% of the trail was a mud pit with rocks and sticks thrown in by previous hikers to try to provide a place to step. It was really slow going and at times I just had to laugh and keep on truckin’.
I crossed from Massachusetts into Vermont about two hours into the hike. In southern Vermont the AT is the same as The Long Trail, which runs from Vermont’s border with Canada to the border with Massachusetts. They are the same trail for a little over a hundred miles and then the AT turn east towards New Hampshire and The Long Trail goes north to the Canadian border.
The Long Trail is a well known trail and I will probably see more hikers than usual.
Tonight there is a good crowd at the Melville Nauheim Shelter with a mix of AT thru-hikers, section hikers, and Long Trail hikers. I’m tenting at the shelter and enjoying the coziness of my tent, Big Agnes, rather than facing the mosquitoes and noise in the shelter. (Note: ‘Big Agnes’ is the brand name of my tent so that’s the nickname I’ve given it.)
Tonight for dinner I cooked a meal that I got from the hiker box at The Shamrock Inn in Dalton two days ago. It’s a penne pasta backpacker meal made by a company called Outdoor Herbivore in Charlotte, NC. It’s really good!
I didn’t take any pictures during the day because of the rain but I did snap a couple of shots of the threatening sky as I left HOJO’S (see below).
Tomorrow I have a relatively easy eighteen mile day to the Story Spring Shelter. Depending on how the weather is I may go further and find a good camping spot a few miles past the shelter. On Wednesday I plan to stay at the Green Mountain Hostel near the town of Manchester Center. It sounds like a nice place and I’m looking forward to staying there.

20130626-185756.jpg

About The Man in My Shoes

Since retiring in 2012 I am enjoying the freedom of being able to make my own decisions about how I spend my time and am taking advantage of the opportunities that I have to spend more time with my family, explore, learn, and pursue my dreams and goals. I look forward to writing about these pursuits and hope you enjoy reading about them.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Welcome to ‘Vermud’!

  1. Tom O'Neill says:

    Tim, growing up did you ever have a birthday party at the Hojo on Northside Drive and I-75 that had the playground with the two big rockets (metal jungle gym cages)? I loved the orange sherbet that Hojo used to have in their restaurant. I am once again amazed by your pace… You are covering some serious ground amigo… keep on trucking! I’m flying on Tuesday with Steve so I’m sure we’re going to have some good conversation about your accomplishments! Stay safe!
    Tom-O

    • Tom, I never went to that HOJO’s but when I was in flight school at Whiting Field I used to go to the one on Pensacola Beach on Sunday mornings for breakfast. First I would stop at a tobacco shop downtown where they sold newspapers and pick up the Atlanta Journal and Constitution Sunday edition. Those were the days!

  2. The mud doesn’t sound fun….glad you’re sleeping with Big Agnes to keep the bugs at bay!

  3. Annette says:

    That mud reminds me of the time the dirt road was about to be paved from Blue Ridge Highway to the cabin, and it had rained and our station wagon got stuck and we had to hike to the cabin. I did lose my sandals that night when the mud sucked them right off my feet. As Liam would say, “not nice.” I feel for you, Tim. Hope you have a great hike tomorrow.

Leave a Reply

