Upper Goose Pond to Dalton

We had a great breakfast of pancakes and coffee early yesterday morning and I hit the trail at 7:00. I was feeling strong from the breakfast and the good conversation with Papa Doc, Gerda, Nancy, and two recent graduates of Dickinson College who are doing a section hike.
It was hot and humid but the mosquitoes were fewer in number than the previous two days. The trail was pretty flat but in a couple of places it was not well marked so I lost some time searching for the trail.
In the morning I ran into the-hiker Shepherd who I had met in Pennsylvania. He hikes in a kilt and is really into contra dancing, so he gets off the trail wherever he can find a dance in a trail town. His search for contra dances causes him to skip around to various locations on the trail so there’s no telling where I’ll see him next.
At noon I reached the Cookie Lay’s house. She was busy eating lunch but her husband, Roy, came out and met me. He gave me a basket with cookies in it and I bought a Coke, a Klondike Bar and four boiled eggs, which they sell to hikers. That’s all you have to choose from so that’s what I had for lunch. I wasn’t sure how the boiled eggs would sit with me but they were fine.
In the afternoon the heat really got up there – low 90’s I think. I could hear thunder rumbling off to the west so I really picked up my pace and made it into the town of Dalton at 4:00, an hour ahead of schedule. I checked in to the Shamrock Inn and had an early dinner at Jacob’s Pub down the street. There was a nice older couple sitting next to me at the bar and we had a good conversation. It turns out she is the former postmistress for the town and she told me all about the history of the town. I’ll put a picture if her and her husband below.
During dinner the bad weather arrived with lightning, thunder, heavy winds and rain, and even a little hail. Fortunately it did not last long and I was able to get a few supplies (more Rice Krispies Bars) and then get a shower and do laundry. I really needed to clean everything up after five hot days on the trail.
I’m leaving at 5:30 this morning to head to Williamstown so that I can get there early in case there are more afternoon storms. I will climb Mt. Greylock today, which is the highest mountain in Massachusetts at 3,491 feet. There should be some great views up there.

20130625-045647.jpg

About The Man in My Shoes

Since retiring in 2012 I am enjoying the freedom of being able to make my own decisions about how I spend my time and am taking advantage of the opportunities that I have to spend more time with my family, explore, learn, and pursue my dreams and goals. I look forward to writing about these pursuits and hope you enjoy reading about them.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Upper Goose Pond to Dalton

  1. Doug Dowdy says:

    Hey Tim,

    Good move getting ahead of the thunder storms! And that sounded like a pretty good one. I’ll have to try the Rice Krispie. I did about 10 miles this weekend up around Humpback where I surprised you and met a steady stream of thru’s. Worked out that I gave one guy a ride to Waynesboro for a resupply and Motel night.
    I’m wondered as you can see the end “in sight” so to speak, and knowing how much you miss being at home, how you feel about finishing up?

    • Doug, Let me know how the Rice Krispies Treats work for you. I’m eager to finish the hike and get back home. I’m looking forward to the last three states but I miss Cathy and will be glad to be back with her. I don’t think I’ll have any problems adjusting to ‘life after the AT’ when I’m finished like you hear some hikers have. I will miss being able to eat anything I want. 😉

  2. Annette says:

    You go into many different places and it must be especially nice to meet the local people and find out about the history of the area. Good thing you got ahead of the storm. Saw the beautiful photo you put on Facebook taken in Williamstown. Did you see mine taken at Camp Boolollie?

  3. Annette says:

    Learned what “contra dancing” is from a video on Univ. Of Google, and it looks very much like square dancing which looks very much like Scottish dancing and lots of fun.

  4. Look back a couple of posts. Want to make sure you saw my comment about the Armstrongs.

Leave a Reply

