Dalton to Williamstown

Today was a great day of hiking. I was on the trail at 5:30 in an effort to get to Williamstown as early as possible in the afternoon. The early start also helped me beat the heat…at least for a few hours.
I’m experimenting with my diet and trying to incorporate some of the nutrition information I got from Papa Doc and I think it helped me today. My energy level was great all day and I felt really strong on the climbs. I’ll keep working on it and if it continues to help I’ll write a blog post about it.
Trail conditions were a little rough with a mix of rocks, roots and mud which were all very slick from the previous night’s rain. My feet are a little sore now after about 23 miles of rough trail and another mile and a half toad walk to the motel.
The highlight of the hike was reaching the summit of Mt. Greylock, the highest point in Massachusetts. There is a large monument at the peak that is dedicated to the military veterans of Massachusetts. There is also a beautiful lodge near the summit and I stopped in there to fill my water bottle.
I’m staying at Howard Johnson’s in Williamstown. It’s one of the nicest places I’ve stayed on this trip and also the least expensive. Right now I’m eating an early dinner at Desperados, a Mexican restaurant that is mentioned in my trail guide as ‘hiker friendly’.
The motel is located outside of the quaint downtown area of Williamstown but I plan to walk in there after dinner if it doesn’t storm. The skies are pretty dark right now, so my tour of town may get rained out.
Tomorrow morning I’ll cross into Vermont, the only state on the AT that I have not set foot in prior to this hike. I’m looking forward to seeing Vermont but I hear that it can be pretty muddy, especially with all the rain we’ve had. In fact I’ve heard some thru-hikers refer to it as ‘Vermud’. I’ll let you know how it goes!
Here’s a photo of the Mount Greylock Memorial and a large rock inscribed with a quote from Henry David Thoreau about the educational value of spending time in the mountains. It it’s as valuable as he says it is, I should be pretty well educated after this trip. 🙂

20130625-174621.jpg

20130625-174633.jpg

About The Man in My Shoes

Since retiring in 2012 I am enjoying the freedom of being able to make my own decisions about how I spend my time and am taking advantage of the opportunities that I have to spend more time with my family, explore, learn, and pursue my dreams and goals. I look forward to writing about these pursuits and hope you enjoy reading about them.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Dalton to Williamstown

  1. Lisa Connors says:

    I’d say you’re getting a great education! I cannot believe how fast you are hiking too. You will keep this experience with you always.

  2. Ann says:

    interested in knowing what you are supposed to eat that you aren’t already eating to give you energy!
    ann

  3. Annette says:

    It will be interesting to hear what nutrition advice Papa Doc gave you. It is inspiring that so many hikers have expertise that you share with each other and out to your followers. Marybeth and David, my friends who are hiking in Wales, bought clothing and equipment you recommended early in your blog. They are having a wonderful time I heard this week via e-mail. Hope Vermont is not as muddy as some predicted.

Leave a Reply

