Upper Goose Pond Cabin

Yesterday’s hike was pretty uneventful. The terrain was good but it was hot and humid, so I didn’t hike very fast and took a couple of breaks to try to stay cool. The mosquitoes were pretty bad so I hiked in a long-sleeve shirt and used my head net for much if the day. It’s the first time I’ve hiked with a head net and it was really effective. The net covers your head, face and neck and is very light, so it’s not as uncomfortable as you might think.
I started out at 8:00 and reached my destination, Upper Goose Pond Cabin, at about 4:30. The pond is pretty and the cabin is like a small hostel except it does not have power or indoor plumbing. I checked out the bunk room and it was nice but I decided to set up my tent instead. After dinner I sat on the front porch and enjoyed talking to the caretaker, Nancy, and other hikers, including a retired urologist from Birmingham, Alabama who was a lot of fun. He goes by the trail name ‘Papa Doc’ and had a lot of great tips about nutrition for athletes that apply to hiking too. One interesting things he mentioned is that during halftime the University of Alabama football players eat Rice Crispies Treats to give them an energy boost for the second half of the game. I’m going to have to pick up some of those when I resupply later today.
This morning there we had a delicious pancake breakfast and coffee. It will give me energy for the hike to the town of Dalton where I plan to stay in The Shamrock Inn. I really need a shower and a laundromat!
One highlight for today should be a visit with The Cookie Lady, who is sort of legendary on the AT. She lives on a road right beside the trailhead and gives hikers cookies. She and her husband raise blueberries and later in the season you can buy fresh blueberries from them. I think they also sell sodas and snacks and you can camp in their yard if you want to stay there. I’ll just stop by for cookies and a soda and continue on to Dalton.
Tomorrow I will hike to Wiiliamstown where Williams College is located. Rocket is a Williams alumna so I’ll get to see her alma mater. It is supposed to be a beautiful little town and I’m looking forward to going there.
Here are some photos from Upper Goose Pond Cabin. There’s Papa Doc with Gerda from Germany, and me with Nancy, the caretaker. Great people!

20130624-072540.jpg

20130624-072606.jpg

About The Man in My Shoes

Since retiring in 2012 I am enjoying the freedom of being able to make my own decisions about how I spend my time and am taking advantage of the opportunities that I have to spend more time with my family, explore, learn, and pursue my dreams and goals. I look forward to writing about these pursuits and hope you enjoy reading about them.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Upper Goose Pond Cabin

  1. Annette says:

    Love your photos. It looks like a picnic going on with Papa Doc and Gerda. Nancy is a good looking caretaker, and you look great. There are so many nice folks you meet along the AT, and it just makes the hike so much nicer. I’m glad that you found a way to keep those pesky mosquitoes off your face and arms. Enjoy those Rice Crispies and your hike into Williamstown tomorrow.

Leave a Reply

