Sages Ravine to Ice Gulch

Sometime I feel like I just can’t eat enough and yesterday was one of those days. So in addition to hiking 21 miles I added on an additional 2.4 miles for the round trip into the town of South Egremont for lunch. I know it sounds crazy but you get so hungry out here that it’s worth the extra miles to get a good meal. Anyway, I went to Mon’s Cafe had a California Turkey Melt with chips and a pickle, plus a chocolate milk shake. Then I went to the market next door and got some snacks and a bottle of Gatorade. I felt much stronger after eating and the afternoon part of the hike went very well.
The terrain was again a mix of climbing, rocks, smooth forest paths, farmers’ fields, and a little road walking. The mosquitoes were pesky so I had to apply insect repellant a couple of times.
I camped at Ice Gulch in front of the Tom Leonard Shelter on a campsite overlooking the valley below. I had a great view of the full moon from my tent. Also at the shelter were four guys in their twenties who were out for a weekend backpacking bachelor party. They were a lot of fun and even offered me a beer but I declined since the mosquitoes were biting and I was ready to take refuge in my tent.
There were also two older men at the shelter who are doing a section hike. One of them asked where I was from and when I said Lexington, Virginia he said that he has friends there. It turns out that they are mutual friends, Bob Gough and Tara Miller. He was so excited that he immediately got out his phone and called them but got no answer. He left a message explaining that he met me at the shelter. What a small world it is!
Today I’m hiking 20 miles, with no food stops, to the Upper Goose Pond Shelter. It is supposed to be really nice so I’m looking forward to seeing it.
Here are photos mountain laurel in full bloom, the view from Mount Race, and the rock cairn in Mount Everett.

20130623-064251.jpg

20130623-064302.jpg

20130623-064313.jpg

About The Man in My Shoes

Since retiring in 2012 I am enjoying the freedom of being able to make my own decisions about how I spend my time and am taking advantage of the opportunities that I have to spend more time with my family, explore, learn, and pursue my dreams and goals. I look forward to writing about these pursuits and hope you enjoy reading about them.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Sages Ravine to Ice Gulch

  1. Tara Miller says:

    We’re so glad you met Uncle Noel and Oatmeal. We had guests for dinner last night so did not answer the phone but from now on whenever Uncle Noel calls, we shall answer! In another small world story, we crossed paths with Uncle Noel (“UN”) when we were backpacking Shenandoah National Park several years ago. He and Oatmeal were on a section hike headed South, we were headed North, and we stayed at the same shelter one night. About nine months later, Bob and I were hiking near the James River, stopped at the Brown Mountain shelter for lunch and saw this figure emerging from the woods across the creek. As he approached, he looked at us and declared: “I know you.” Indeed, it was UN! He was just finishing a section hike, and his friends from Nellysford were picking him up at the the parking lot at the Foote Foot Bridge. We’ve joined UN (and sometimes Oatmeal) on hikes ever since. Enjoy Massachusetts! Tara and Bob.

  2. Annette says:

    Another good hiking day! It is understandable that eating enough real food is required for energy, and you are in need of a lot of energy to accomplishing what you’re doing every day! Your photos are beautiful…I really like the one of the cairn with your shadow on it.

Leave a Reply

