Massachusetts!

Well Connecticut was a nice state to hike through but it’s always great to cross into a new state. Late yesterday I crossed into Massachusetts and camped at Sages Ravine, a really beautiful campsite.
There was a lot of great scenery yesterday including a hike along the Housatonic River, beautiful panoramas and a climb over Bear Mountain. One of the highlights of the day was taking a two-hour lunch break in Salisbury, CT. It’s a very quaint New England town with nice restaurants, a great grocery store and an outfitter where I bought a new pair of socks.
i wore through the soles of one of my pair that I had been wearing since Virginia and was happy that the outfitter had a good selection socks. I bought a pair of Darn Tough socks made in Vermont that carry a lifetime guarantee. It will be interesting to see how that works!
I had a nice lunch and bought a few snacks, did some planning for the next few days, and checked the weather on my phone. It looks like it will be hot and dry for the next few days with a small chance if isolated showers in the afternoon.
Today I’m hiking twenty-one miles to the Tom Leonard shelter and it looks like their may be a food opportunity at about the halfway point. Since it’s Saturday there will probably be a lot of day hikers and weekend backpackers on the trail. There are not any thru-hikers with me now so it will be nice to see some people during the day.
Here are a couple of photos from yesterday.

20130622-063350.jpg

20130622-063406.jpg

About The Man in My Shoes

Since retiring in 2012 I am enjoying the freedom of being able to make my own decisions about how I spend my time and am taking advantage of the opportunities that I have to spend more time with my family, explore, learn, and pursue my dreams and goals. I look forward to writing about these pursuits and hope you enjoy reading about them.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Massachusetts!

  1. MarySue Curran says:

    Massachusetts! It is a long two-day drive for me. I cannot even imagine hiking the distance from Virginia as you did and then mjch more. Thanks again for the blogs and pictures. It is truly something I look forward to each day. LLBean in Maine has a life-time guarantee on their products and my brother-in-law after 20 years sent back his hunting boots and they replaced them free of charge but one never knows.

    • MarySue, I can hardly believe I’ve made it this far! I’m glad you’re enjoying the blog. Maybe The Princess and I will visit the LL Bean store when she comes to meet me at the end if the hike. We were there some years ago and it’s really nice.

  2. Annette says:

    Good morning, Tim, it’s 7:00 a.m. in “sunny” CA, and the sunshine is pouring in as it has been the past few days. Maybe our annual June “gloom” has passed. Your hike yesterday sounds perfect with some relaxing time in Salisbury. Your photos of the waterfalls and vistas are beautiful. The Tom Leonard shelter rings a bell. Remember my friend by that name when we worked at CDC? I think he was from Mass., but maybe that is a common name up there. Enjoy your new socks and hike today.

  3. Pat Bishop says:

    Welcome to Massachusetts, Tim.
    I am Pat, a good friend of Marlene Jordan. I understand you are doing a delivery for her husband, George Jordan. May you enjoy my home-state, have good weather and reach your (& George’s) destination safely.
    Pat Bishop

Leave a Reply

