Kent to Sharon Mountain Campsite

I left the Fife and Drum in Kent at about 8:15 and was on the trail by 8:35. The weather was perfect, cool and sunny with a nice breeze at the higher elevations. The terrain was varied with some good climbs, some rocky sections, and a long flat walk through a river valley and farmers’ fields.
There was not much that was remarkable, though, no great overlooks, food opportunities or anything like that.
I made it to the Sharon Mountain campsite by 5:30 and quickly put up my tent. The mosquitoes were pretty bad! There were a few others at the campsite: Lady Grey, Mousetrap, and three girls who just graduated from college. Lady Grey will meet her husband today and skip Massachusetts and Vermont, which she has already hiked, and head up to New Hampshire to finish the hike from there. Mousetrap is from Tennessee and got his name because early in his thru-hike he caught mice in the shelters. He’s a good hiker and a nice young man.
I had some extra time to read last night. I’m currently reading ‘The Hunger Games’, which Whiskers and Rocket recommended, and it’s really good. I love my Nook, which my mother-in-law, Jackie, gave me when I visited her in Virginia. Sometimes when I get bored during the day I look forward to reading when I get to camp and that helps motivate me.
By the way, I got a text from Whiskers this morning and they’re headed to Kent today. Hopefully they’ll catch up soon and I can hike with them again.
Today I will cross into Massachusetts and there is an opportunity for lunch at a diner along the way. Woohoo!

About The Man in My Shoes

Since retiring in 2012 I am enjoying the freedom of being able to make my own decisions about how I spend my time and am taking advantage of the opportunities that I have to spend more time with my family, explore, learn, and pursue my dreams and goals. I look forward to writing about these pursuits and hope you enjoy reading about them.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Kent to Sharon Mountain Campsite

  1. Andy says:

    Still reading your posts Tim. My wife Geraldine completed her own Camino about 3 weeks ago. She had no blisters, shin splints or any problems apart from she fell over on the trail near Rabanal and ended up with a massive bruised face down one side. As in the Camino spirit she had plenty of help and support from fellow travellers and locals alike. Keep going man, you’re doing great.

  2. Annette says:

    Eyeballing the AT map you gave me, it looks like you have hiked at least three-fourths of the AT to Mt. Katahdin. Awesome! At this time on the West Coast, you are very close to that yummy lunch at the Diner in Massachusets. Bon appetit! Have a great rest of the day.

  3. Jay says:

    Must be more to the storing (I am guessing) of catching the mice. Catch them with his teeth? 🙂

Leave a Reply

