A Slumber Bummer!

My Mom came up with the ‘slumber bummer’ phrase to describe my night camping at the Native Plant Center and it describes perfectly how things went Tuesday night.
It became clear as soon as I climbed into my tent that it was going to be a noisy night. Cars and trucks on the two-lane highway were flying by and then a commuter train rolled through and blasted its horn. I was camped about fifty yards from both the highway and the railroad track. When the trains came by the wind made my tent flutter!
I could have packed everything up and moved on a mile or two but it was almost dark and a light rain was falling. I decided to stay, hoping the traffic would die down and the trains would stop running. I was wrong! I put my ear plugs in which just took the edge off the noise and managed to get a few hours of sleep.
I got up early and was on the trail by 6:00. A cold front had passed through and it was cool, about fifty degrees, which really energized me and I hiked at a fast pace. Late in the morning I crossed into Connecticut and enjoyed the beautiful scenery and forest paths. I crossed the Ten Mile River, which was swollen from recent rains, and had great views at rocky overlooks (see photos below).
I arrived at my destination, the town of Kent, in the early afternoon. Entering town I passed by the campus of The Kent School, est. 1906, which looks pretty exclusive. My first stop was Annie Bannanie’s ice cream shop and then walked to The Fife and Drum Inn and Restaurant where I spent the night. Lady Grey, Postman and Buffalo also stayed at the Fife and Drum and it was good to have company.
I had chores to do so I pulled out all of my gear and spread it around the room to dry. I even put my tent up in the room so that it could dry out! Then I took a long shower and got rid of five days worth of trail dirt and mud. Next stop…the laundromat. I needed to wash all of my clothes, which had not seen the inside of a washing machine since the Relyeas’ house back in Pennsylvania, so I put in my rain jacket and rain pants and took all if my clothes to the laundromat and did laundry. While the clothes were in the washer I walked across the street to the IGA grocery store and got a deli sandwich for a late lunch. I must have been a sight but it didn’t bother me!
Later I sat down with my trail guide and planned out my hiking schedule through July 3rd, which will get me to Norwich, VT where The Princess will send me a mail drop with the winter clothing that I started the hike with back in March. Norwich is several miles from Hanover, New Hampshire, the gateway to the White Mountains and I will need warm clothing there, even in July. It’s hard to believe I’m this far north and starting to prepare for the hiking challenges of Vermont, New Hampshire and Maine.
I got a great night sleep at The Fife and Drum and the weather today is beautiful, clear and cool with low humidity. According to the morning news in TV it will be “one of the ten best days of the year” and then tomorrow a heat wave will arrive. I’m going to enjoy my twenty mile hike today!

20130620-062622.jpg

20130620-062634.jpg

About The Man in My Shoes

Since retiring in 2012 I am enjoying the freedom of being able to make my own decisions about how I spend my time and am taking advantage of the opportunities that I have to spend more time with my family, explore, learn, and pursue my dreams and goals. I look forward to writing about these pursuits and hope you enjoy reading about them.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to A Slumber Bummer!

  1. Doug Dowdy says:

    Tim, being only 50 yards from cars and trains, all you needed to make it a perfect place to camp was a nearby runway. But Kent sounded great! And if we didn’t have the not so great times like your “slumber bummer” we might not appreciate the times that are better as much. ( although I’m OK with times being good all the time, if that might get a bit boring to some people)

    All is well for us here in Staunton. Frances has found a new studio space just a block away from her current location and will be moving in July. We are having a bit of summer visitors , my sister was here from Clarkesville Ga, for a few days, Frances’ cousin and her husband are coming tomorrow for an overnight on their way back to Savannah, then Frances heads to Atlanta for a week and picks up my niece from Sautee ga on the way back to come here for a week.

    This last part of your trip has got to be exciting, can’t wait to see the picture of you at Katahdin.

    Doug

    • Doug, If I find a campsite by a runway I’ll have to try it out – just for the experience. Glad Frances found a studio close by. Sorry I can’t help you move! It sounds like you’ve got a busy summer with lots of guests. Enjoy!

      Sent from my iPhone.

  2. MarySue Curran says:

    When I commented a few days ago that you were making great time being in Conn., sorry I was mistaken. YOU are still making tremendous time being in Conn, now. You are absolutely right that even in July, VT, NH, and Maine are COLD compared to here. Thanks again for your posts and pictures.

  3. Annette says:

    Glad you had a shower and a good slumber at the Fife and Drum. I get a bit emotional thinking about your hiking all those miles and over rough terrain since March 27. I know the Princess is keeping the home fires burning brightly and staying busy until your return. It is so nice to follow you on your adventure through your photos and posts.

  4. Debbie says:

    Tim the train noise made me think when you use to play the song freight train going down the track on the porch at BI always loved that little song!

Leave a Reply

