RPH Shelter to Native Plant Center

Today started out as a pretty normal day with an opportunity for breakfast at a deli five miles into the hike. Getting real food is such a treat!
Later I passed by a beautiful lake and checked my trail guide to learn that it is called Nuclear Lake. No kidding. Now who in the world would name a lake something like that? You can be sure that I didn’t stop to get water there.
Towards the end of the day the sky turned stormy, as predicted, so I quickened my pace to get to my destination, the Native Plant and Landscape Center, to set up my tent before the rain came. I made it just in time. Lady Grey is also camping here so we walked down the road to have dinner at a deli. It seems like there’s a deli at every crossroads in New York!
The Native Plant and Landscape Center is located right next to the Appalachian Trail train station and is on a pretty busy road so it may be a noisy night if a lot of trains go by. There is a train that stops at the Appalachian Trail station on Saturdays and Sundays and you can ride into New York City. I can hear a train coming down the track now and it’s pretty loud. The wind from the passing train makes my tent blow. Yes, it may be a long night!
Tomorrow I will cross from New York to Connecticut and I plan to spend the night at the Fife and Drum Inn in the town of Kent. It will be nice to take a shower, maybe even a bath, and do laundry. There is supposedly a good outfitter in town and I need to see about getting some new socks and some really effective insect repellant.
Here are a few pictures from the day…

20130618-205404.jpg

20130618-205513.jpg

20130618-205535.jpg

20130618-205637.jpg

About The Man in My Shoes

Since retiring in 2012 I am enjoying the freedom of being able to make my own decisions about how I spend my time and am taking advantage of the opportunities that I have to spend more time with my family, explore, learn, and pursue my dreams and goals. I look forward to writing about these pursuits and hope you enjoy reading about them.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to RPH Shelter to Native Plant Center

  1. I like to google places you mention, so here is what they say about Nuclear Lake. “in 1972, a chemical explosion blew out two windows in the experimental nuclear research lab that used to sit on the shore of the lake, blasting an unspecified amount of bomb-grade plutonium across the lake and surrounding woods.” Everything was cleaned up extensively and fine now, but they call it Nuclear Lake because of the plutonium spill.

  2. Doug Dowdy says:

    Tim, it’s been great following your progress. Sounds like you have met some really nice people along the way and are having a really successful trip. Keep on trucking as they say!

    Doug

  3. Jay says:

    Thanks for keeping us updated on your progress. I was leaning towards walking the trail but the more I read of your adventure the more I want to take this journey.

  4. Annette says:

    I love the sign painted on the Old Route 55 post that warns hikers that there is “no hot dog stand around here.” After reading Susan’s post, glad you didn’t get any water from Nuclear Lake, ’cause maybe it is not so clear after all. I’ve been hoping there is a law against trains running at night near your camp sight. That would be a slumber bummer for sure. Have a great hike today!

Leave a Reply

