Graymoor to the RPH Shelter

As expected the hike yesterday was not as exciting as it was on Father’s Day. I hiked by myself and only ran into a few other hikers throughout the day. The terrain was varied – rock climbs, wet and muddy stretches and some really nice forest paths. The biggest challenge was mosquitoes and their were swarms of them! I was running low in insect repellant. That concerned me since my next good resupply will not be until late Wednesday in Kent, Connecticut.
Around 1:00 I reached Canopus Lake at Clarence Fahnestock State Park. There were signs advertising the Snack Shack which was located at the north end of the lake. I decided to take the side trail to the lake to check it out and see if I could get some lunch and, more importantly, some bug spray. When I got to the lake I walked up to the concession and saw two other hikers and a man locking the door to the store. As it turned out the Snack Shack doesn’t open until June 23rd and the store is only open on weekends until then. The two hikers, Shadow and Crazy Legs (both guys), had arrived to find the store closed, called the park office and the man was nice enough to come out and cook them some burgers and fries. He reopened the store so that I could get a can of Deep Woods Off bug spray, two bottles of Gatorade and an ice cream bar. Shadow and Crazy Legs had a plate of fries that they did not want and offered them to me. I gladly accepted the offer!
We sat and talked while I ate and they charged their phones and a Kindle using a receptacle on the outside of the store. Shadow and Crazy Legs started the trail together in January and said they were the fourth and fifth hikers to sign the register at Springer Mountain. They were very friendly and seemed to just be enjoying the AT experience. Crazy Legs said they were currently doing low mileage because he was having trouble with his feet but they planned to finish the day at the Ralph’s Peak Hikers (RPH) Shelter, which was also my destination.
I said goodbye to them and went down to wade in the lake to cool off before I started the afternoon hike. After soaking my hat and shirt to help me stay cool I got back on the trail. The afternoon went by quickly and I met Aggie Al as I got close to the shelter. He’s a professor at New Mexico State (also called the Aggies) and is hiking from Harper’s Ferry to Maine this summer.
Lady Grey, Shadow and Crazy Legs arrived at the shelter not long after Aggie Al and me and we had good conversation as we cooked our dinner. As usual everyone was in bed by 8:00, also known as ‘hiker’s midnight’.
Today I’ll hike another twenty miles to a place called the Native Plant and Landscape Center which is a business where they let hikers camp and use their bathroom and shower. There’s an opportunity for ‘real food’ at the Mountaintop Market five miles into the hike and last everyone at the shelter said they planned to stop their for breakfast.
The weather forecast is pretty good with a chance if rain this afternoon. It should be another good day – my last full day in New York.
Here is a photo of Canopus Lake and another if a 911 memorial painted in the top if Shenandoah Mountain.

20130618-053224.jpg

20130618-053237.jpg

About The Man in My Shoes

Since retiring in 2012 I am enjoying the freedom of being able to make my own decisions about how I spend my time and am taking advantage of the opportunities that I have to spend more time with my family, explore, learn, and pursue my dreams and goals. I look forward to writing about these pursuits and hope you enjoy reading about them.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Graymoor to the RPH Shelter

  1. MarySue Curran says:

    It seems that you are making great time and covering the AT much faster than I ever thought was possible. Take good care of yourself and thank you for your daily note and pictures. They are truly appreciated.

  2. Lisa Connors says:

    I like hearing how people along the trail do little things to help, coming to open shop and cook a meal, allowing for recharging, Trail Angels, showers, etc. It is nice to see this side of humanity since the news rarely shows us.

  3. Annette says:

    There is only one time that you mentioned a lady at a motel who sold drinks and ice cream and charged change, e.g., $2.25, and complained that hikers never have change. Everyone else has bean so eager to help hikers, even going out of their way to do so. We will just be grateful for the them. I hope your are having a great day at the native plant and landscape center. Just so you know, Princess is keeping the garden and lawn beautiful…she seemed to enjoy pulling weeds :). It was fun watching her do all the work while the boys and I played. I’ll send you photos soon. We missed you but it was great talking to you on the phone.

Leave a Reply

