The Lemon Squeezer

I enjoyed a beautiful sunrise over Greenwood Lake yesterday and started hiking just after 7:00. The trail has started to dry out and I was able to avoid the streams and puddles and managed to keep my feet dry. I had to take off my shoes once and change into my Crocs for one creek crossing and wading through the cool water was very refreshing.
The terrain was mixed with some hills, open forest trails, s waterfall, boulder scrambles, and true rock climb just after a well known rock formation known as the Lemon Squeezer. To get through the Lemon Squeezer, especially with a pack, is pretty tricky.
I hiked for a while with two other thru-hikers about my age, Lady Grey and Tin Cup. I just met Lady Grey yesterday. She is a high school guidance counselor from Vermont who managed to get some time off to hike the AT. Tin Cup I first met in Erwin, TN but had not seen again until yesterday. He’s an engineer from Maine who also got time off to hike the trail.
We all camped at the William Brien Memorial Shelter. There was a group there from New York City on an introductory backpacking course who offered to share some of their food with us in exchange for talking to them about thru-hiking the AT. They were all in their mid-20’s to early 30’s and were very interested in what we are doing. They asked a lot if good questions and we enjoyed talking to them.
Today promises to be an interesting day. I have a relatively short fifteen mile hike to the Graymoor Spiritual Life Center which is a Buddhist monastery where they let you camp at their picnic area. I don’t think I’ll have any contact with the monks though.
During the day I will cross over the Hudson River on the Bear Mountain Bridge and visit the museum and small zoo at Bear Mountain. The AT passes right through the museum and zoo and thru-hikers get free admission. So I’m pretty much guaranteed to see a bear today!
There are also a couple of opportunities to eat real food today and Tin Cup and I talked about that some as we hiked. It’s funny how the simplest things, like a deli sandwich or ice cream, become such wonderful treats. It should be another great day!
Here are done photos if the day. They’re pretty self-explanatory and you’ll know which one is the Lemon Squeezer.

20130616-053925.jpg

20130616-053939.jpg

20130616-053953.jpg

About The Man in My Shoes

Since retiring in 2012 I am enjoying the freedom of being able to make my own decisions about how I spend my time and am taking advantage of the opportunities that I have to spend more time with my family, explore, learn, and pursue my dreams and goals. I look forward to writing about these pursuits and hope you enjoy reading about them.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to The Lemon Squeezer

  1. Very interesting stuff. Happy Fathers Day!!

  2. Beth says:

    Walker, I didn’t find out until yesterday about your thru-hike and took last night and this morning to catch up with your adventure. It is all very exciting and I will look forward to your updates. Your stories are wonderful and have really drawn me in. I almost feel like I am there too! Thank you for maintaining this blog of your trip and allowing us all to be a part of it. Also, Happy Father’s Day to you!

Leave a Reply

