Thanks for Your Support

I just want to thank all of you who are following my thru-hike on this blog. Your comments are very encouraging and help me stay motivated to hike on tough days like today. Some of you comment frequently and I really appreciate all of your comments. For those of you who do not comment, I am just as appreciative because I know that you are pulling for me to finish this hike.
I am very happy to be hiking into New York tomorrow. If all goes well I should be in Connecticut next Wednesday and in Massachusetts four days later.
If all continues to go well I will enter Vermont on June 26th. That will be a major milestone and the real challenge will begin. The final three states – Vermont, New Hampshire, and Maine – will be very challenging but also very rewarding and I am really looking forward to getting there. I hope I’m up to the task!
Thanks again to all of you for your support, it truly is what keeps me going. Here’s a funny sign I saw yesterday near Joe to Go.

20130613-180244.jpg

About The Man in My Shoes

Since retiring in 2012 I am enjoying the freedom of being able to make my own decisions about how I spend my time and am taking advantage of the opportunities that I have to spend more time with my family, explore, learn, and pursue my dreams and goals. I look forward to writing about these pursuits and hope you enjoy reading about them.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Thanks for Your Support

  1. twolmo says:

    Amigo, even though I don’t really know you, I know Steve so I feel like I do. I find your walk completiely inspiring. It’s motivated me multiple times when I’m running to keep going and finish the run. I’m amazed by your progress. Thanks for sharing your experience with all us. I hope Steve will buy us both a beer one day ๐Ÿ˜‰ Seriously, keep on charging… Bravo Zulu.

  2. Deb and Rob says:

    Did you do what the sign said? We know you did!

  3. Bob Slawson says:

    Walker,
    I’ve enjoyed following your hike and comparing/contrasting it to my own. I started March 27th 2005, and every year I try following hikers who started the same date-just for fun. You’re doing great and I have no doubt you’ll finish well, as you’re prudent, diligent and determined. And you’ve got a good support person in the Princess. It’s been fun sharing your experiences and I wish you well as I continue to follow your journey. Keep your eyes on the prize – Katahdin. I finished on my 50th Birthday July 20th and it still stands out as a defining life experience and a wonderful memory. I wish the same for you. Keep on keepin’ on… Bob Slawson Five-0 Class of 2005

    As you’re coming into NY, it gets surprisingly harder with less ridge walks and more vertical climbs. It’s deceiving and harder than you expect it to be. Vermont is what you’d expect for verticals, but sloppy trails if there is rain. The Whites are hard. Period. Less miles per day than you’re used to, but beautiful scenery. Maine is the crown jewel. Challenge, beauty and the final push. It’s grand. Enjoy!

  4. We know you’re up to the task!!! You have shown that over and over, day after day! TWOLMO – I’ll tell Steve about the beer!

  5. Mocki Bachtell says:

    Hi Tim, I am a friend of Jackie’s and Cathy’s and am enjoying your blog so much. My daughters went to school with Cathy at NCS. My younger daughter told me about a book that she thought you might enjoy about the AT. The name of the book is “A Walk in the WOODS” by Bill Bryson. You may have already read it as Jackie says you have read a great deal about the trail. If not it might bring a laugh or two. Best wishes as you continue your journey. Mocki Bachtell

  6. Jim Karis says:

    Tim,look forward eagerly to your blog. Reading about ice storms, slippery walking on mud and other miserable conditions I am reminded how wrong Woody Allen was when he said 80% of success is showing up. Not so walking the AP.You mention Macchie Ricchu is next? I have friend who has son working for a company taking people to Mt. Everest, Mount Kilimanjaro, & Mts. in So. America & Russia. Hope yopu don’t decide on Mt. Everest. I have a friend who is related to you by birth would be close to horrified. Tim, just by skipping these mountains and completeing the AP you will remain high in my admiration. Jim

  7. Jay says:

    walker, thanks for taking the time to update this blog. I find all your observations from your trip very interesting.

  8. Ann says:

    read with coffee every morning….my morning ritual! way to go tim.
    ann

  9. Steve McElhannon says:

    Leave it to a couple of former USN aviators to try to get the former USAF aviator to buy the beers. Free beer is your favorite brand, right? Will be glad to. Tim, you’re doing great. Looking forward to doing some “carbo loading”.
    Steve

Leave a Reply

