Rainy Day in NJ

The stormy weather that is hitting most of the East Coast hit us this morning at about 7:00. We had gotten up early and started hiking at 6:00 to try to get in some miles before the rain set in but I guess we weren’t early enough. At about 8:00 Whiskers and Rocket decided to call it a day and went to the home of a family that hosts thru-hikers. I decided to continue on and hike a full day. Hopefully I can meet up with Whiskers and Rocket down the trail. I enjoyed having them as ‘trail family’ for so many miles.
The trail today was pretty smooth with a lot of flat sections but it was extremely wet and muddy. I slipped and fell twice on the slick mud but didn’t hurt myself. I got pretty muddy though!
The trail passed through the Wallkill Wildlife Preserve and then on a boardwalk over a swamp where there were some interesting birds. The area reminded me of the marshes and sounds of coastal North Carolina (see photos). I wished that I had a birding expert like Dick Rowe from VMI with me today to help identify the birds.
I finished hiking at 1:30 and the owner of the Appalachian Motel picked me up and took me to the hotel. I laid out all of my gear to dry and hand-washed a few items, then caught a ride to A&P to pick up some groceries.
It’s pouring outside right now and the forecast is for more rain tomorrow. Fortunately I’ve got a short hike tomorrow, just fifteen miles to Greenwood Lake, NY. That’s right , I’ll hike into New York tomorrow. It’s really exciting to be moving on to a new state. New Jersey has been a fun state to hike through and I hope that New York will be just as nice.

20130613-174654.jpg

20130613-174712.jpg

About The Man in My Shoes

Since retiring in 2012 I am enjoying the freedom of being able to make my own decisions about how I spend my time and am taking advantage of the opportunities that I have to spend more time with my family, explore, learn, and pursue my dreams and goals. I look forward to writing about these pursuits and hope you enjoy reading about them.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Rainy Day in NJ

  1. I hadn’t thought about an A&P in some time since they don’t have them in our parts. So I googled it. Didn’t know it stood for the Great Atlantic and Pacific Tea Co. and at one time had over 16,000 stores. Just a litle trivia for you to ponder. Don’t rightly know why I’m talking like a hick. Think it’s because we just watched a BBQ Cookoff show set in Alabama and everyone was talking a little country. Happy trails…

Leave a Reply

