New Jersey Has Good Food

It was a good day for ‘foodies’. We started off with breakfast bagel sandwiches at ‘Joe to Go’ (the owner was not grumpy as had been reported by other hikers) and then had an early dinner at the beach concession stand at High Point State Park called ‘Little Lu Lu’s’.
At ‘Little Lu Lu’s’ I had salchipapas, a Peruvian dish of sliced hot dogs mixed with french fries. It was delicious! Maria, the concessionaire, and her son, the cook, are from Peru. They are from Cusco, which is the gateway city to Macchu Picchu, one of the places the Princess and I hope to visit soon. Maria gave me some valuable advice about how to adjust to the high elevation in Cusco. She said that as soon as you arrive go directly to your hotel and lie down for thirty minutes. Sounds pretty simple – thanks a lot Maria!
While we were eating Whiskers got a text from Don’s Brother saying he was hiking with Molar Man and that they had just met Mossybrown, my thru-hiker/trail angel friend from Carlisle, PA. It’s a small hiker-world.
Just before we left who should walk up but Post Man and Buffalo. I hadn’t seen them since Harper’s Ferry and it was good to catch up with them. Post Man and I talked about another small world story involving a Delta pilot who flies with my brother and Post Man’s blog on Tumblr.
It is pretty amazing the connections that are made out here. Just a few minutes ago I got a text from Pig Pen saying to be on the lookout for Sweat, his friend from college who is thru-hiking and is close to where I am in the trail.
Tomorrow we’re going to get an early start since the rain is supposed to return and try to make it as quickly as possible to Vernon, NJ. A hiker hotel will pick us up at the trailhead so we don’t have to walk 2.5 miles to town a busy road in the rain. It will be a hard day with the rain and it will be good to be able to take a hot shower, dry out our gear and sleep in a clean bed.
It seems like we’ve been getting more than our share of rain but you know what the say, “If you want to get to Maine…”
Here are some photos of Whiskers and Rocket with the owner of ‘Joe to Go’, Maria and son from Peru, and Post Man and Buffalo on the patio of ‘Little Lu Lu’s’.

20130612-185632.jpg

20130612-185648.jpg

20130612-185700.jpg

About The Man in My Shoes

Since retiring in 2012 I am enjoying the freedom of being able to make my own decisions about how I spend my time and am taking advantage of the opportunities that I have to spend more time with my family, explore, learn, and pursue my dreams and goals. I look forward to writing about these pursuits and hope you enjoy reading about them.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to New Jersey Has Good Food

  1. twolmo says:

    It’s been fun seeing Postman’s progress and his photos from a couple days ahead of you. I think he spent some time recharging his batteries at home. I think it’s cool that y’all have photographed and commented on many of the same things. In 2011 I followed another thru hiker’s blog and she blogged about many of the same experiences you are having. There’s some nasty weather headed east tonight so be safe tomorrow. Take care! Tom-O

Leave a Reply

