A Zero Day in Carlisle

We decided to take a zero in Carlisle, Pennsylvania today so I took the opportunity to visit the historic downtown district in the morning and then go out to Mossybrown’s parents’ farm in the afternoon.
I had visited Carlisle in 1995 when, as a student at the Naval War College, I participated in a sports competition called Jim Thorpe days hosted by the Army War College which is located at Carlisle Barracks. I was so involved in the sports that I did not see any of the town, so it was nice to have time to walk around today.
In the afternoon Mossybrown took me to visit her parents’ farm located just outside of Carlisle. Her father, Don, showed me around the farm and told me what the various machines do. Special note for Jackson and Liam…He has three very large tractors!
He showed me goats and milking cows and I could see some of his beef cattle out in the pasture. He has fields of hay that he is in the process of cutting and baling now. I left with the impression that running a farm like this is very hard work. The amazing thing is that Don does most of the work himself. Needless to say he is a strong and healthy man.
Mossybrown’s mother, Lois, came home from her volunteer work at the local hospital and fixed a wonderful dinner that we ate out on the patio. Mossybrown’s sister, Laurie, and her daughter, Elizabeth, live across the road and joined us for dinner. Everyone was very interesting and we had a great conversation until it was time for me to go back to the hotel to rest up for a big hiking day tomorrow.
Today was a great day and even though I didn’t hike the AT I got an up-close look at a real working farm. I think that it’s important for me to see and learn as much as possible as I walk up the East Coast of the country.
Here’s a photo of me with Don and Lois.

20130603-203107.jpg

About The Man in My Shoes

Since retiring in 2012 I am enjoying the freedom of being able to make my own decisions about how I spend my time and am taking advantage of the opportunities that I have to spend more time with my family, explore, learn, and pursue my dreams and goals. I look forward to writing about these pursuits and hope you enjoy reading about them.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to A Zero Day in Carlisle

  1. Annette says:

    More trail magic. Glad you had the opportunity and went on this special “excursion” to see more of the country-side that you are traveling through and enjoy some Northern hospitality. It must have been a wonderful day.

Leave a Reply

