Leaving Duncannon

Mossybrown picked us up at 5:30 this morning so that she could take us back to where we had left the trail yesterday in Duncannon and then get to work in Carlisle by 7:00. That’s trail angel dedication for you!
She dropped us off in Duncannon and we went to Goodie’s Restaurant for a hearty breakfast before we started hiking. In the booth behind us was a group with one man leading the conversation about developing tourism in Duncannon. He called his concept ‘The New Duncannon’ and a key element in his plan was building the world’s largest replica of Homer Simpson. I told Whiskers and Rocket that I thought the plan was a little weak, but who knows, I’ve been wrong before. Maybe the opportunity to see the world’s largest Homer Simpson will be a big draw. So of any of you want to do a little real estate speculation, now may be the time to buy it up in Duncannon.
Our hike was an easy 18-miler and the weather was good – hot and humid but no rain. Mossybrown picked us up and we went to Wegeman’s grocery dtore to resupply and then we all had dinner together at a family style diner near our hotel. I ate sweet potatoes, broccoli, salad, and fish and chips, so I got a well-balanced meal. It’s easy to eat well in towns and I feel like I have stopped my weight loss at 162 pounds. Hopefully when we get into a remote area again and I have to cook backpacker meals I will be able to eat enough to hold my weight steady.
Mossybrown is slacking us again tomorrow and we’re doing about twenty miles but then as the week goes on the mileage increases somewhat. Hopefully the weather cools off!
In Duncannon the AT runs right through town. This morning as we walked through a residential section of town I saw my first bear (see photo below). I know that it’s a bit anticlimactic but imagine the bear and Homer Simpson together – now that would draw in the tourists!

20130602-201249.jpg

About The Man in My Shoes

Since retiring in 2012 I am enjoying the freedom of being able to make my own decisions about how I spend my time and am taking advantage of the opportunities that I have to spend more time with my family, explore, learn, and pursue my dreams and goals. I look forward to writing about these pursuits and hope you enjoy reading about them.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Leaving Duncannon

  1. Annette says:

    This is hilarious, a giant Homer Simpson, a giant bear, and the Duncannon Hotel just make me want to go there so bad and just hang out for a week or two. Mossybrown truly is a Trail Angel. She took you to a restaurant where you could get some broccoli and sweet potatoes, yum. Thank her from your Mom, please. I know you are having a great time.

  2. I don’t want to hear about broccoli! More photos of milkshakes please!

  3. Deb and Rob says:

    Uncle Timmy, We were so excited to think you had seen a real bear knowing that had been a wish of yours. That bear must have eaten at the hotel you guys left! Hope the real Yogi and BooBoo shows up for you. Stay safe!

Leave a Reply

