Made It Halfway

Yesterday was a big day! I made it to the official halfway point and took the ‘half-gallon challenge’, the traditional way for thru- hikers to celebrate reaching the halfway point on the trail. I chose a half-gallon of chocolate – Hershey’s of course. After all this is Pennsylvania. It took me 29 minutes to eat it all and it wasn’t much of a challenge. I signed the register and went over to the hostel.
The hostel is the old home of the owner of a historic ironworks at Pine Grove Furnace State Park. Whiskers and Rocket were sitting on the front porch and I had fun catching up with what they had been doing for the past two weeks. It was great to see them.
Another thru-hiker, Starchild, showed up later. At first I thought he was one of the people from the van yesterday but he’s a good bit older than they were.
We ate at the hostel and then just hung out until bedtime.
Today we’re heading to Boiling Springs, which is only nineteen miles away. The temperature is supposed to be over ninety degrees so it will be good to have a relatively short day.
Here are photos of the halfway marker and the half-gallon challenge.

20130531-061924.jpg

20130531-061945.jpg

About The Man in My Shoes

Since retiring in 2012 I am enjoying the freedom of being able to make my own decisions about how I spend my time and am taking advantage of the opportunities that I have to spend more time with my family, explore, learn, and pursue my dreams and goals. I look forward to writing about these pursuits and hope you enjoy reading about them.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Made It Halfway

  1. Jennifer says:

    Dear Uncle Tim, I am so proud of you for reaching the halfway mark. I hope you are having a great time on the trail. And that’s all. Love, Dylan

    Dear Uncle Tim, You have done a great job hiking. I am really proud of you for reaching the half mark. I always wanted to go to Pennsylvania. I want to see the Hershey Park there. I want to see the big city there. Love, Bodie

    UT, Congrats! Take care in the heat 🙂

  2. Marcia Leatherman says:

    Dear Tim, I’m so excited to see you are in my neck of the woods! I’m also amazed at your progress. I thought I’d be able to plan better in order to help you but you are zipping right along!! I simply cannot believe you were at the store yesterday!!!! Can I slack pack you today? If I know where to find you I want to help! I have mandAtory training for work..at 11 am, or perhaps I can snag you sooner Forever grateful, Mossybrown 2009

    Sent from my iPhone

  3. Theodora says:

    Congratulations, Walker! Bravo! We are all proud of you and I guess our dear Princess is proud the most! Great job! Great postings! Thank you for inspiration! Take care!

  4. Cindy says:

    Congratulations Tim! What an amazing journey so far. I enjoy reading your postings every day. Can’t wait for the second half adventures!

  5. You did not eat a half gallon of ice cream!?!? I want to go on the AT just to eat like you!!!

  6. Marcia Leatherman says:

    My phone number is 717-574-6334 you can text or call

    Sent from my iPhone

  7. Annette says:

    Hooray for you, Tim!! You reached the half-way mark in only 64 days if my calculations are close to correct. You began your hike on March 27. Love the ice-cream photo….yum. Glad you will hike with your new friends, Whiskers and Rocket for a while.

  8. Marcia Leatherman says:

    Please know I’m a phone call away if you need ride to hotel tonight(sadly after 8 pm) or want to arrange a slack for tomorrow. The pack pickup would need to be early as 730am so I can get to work at 8am. But say the word. I would LOVE to help you guys!! Marcia

    Sent from my iPhone

    • Marcia, I just texted you. It was great to see you today. What a surprise! Let’s meet at the Doyle at 6:00 on Saturday night. Whiskers and Rocket and I will be waiting for you. Tim

Leave a Reply

