This Place Looks Familiar!

I crossed from West Virginia into Maryland this morning. Around noon I popped out of the woods at Turners Gap on US Alt. 40 and saw this really cool retro Smokey the Bear sign announcing that the fire danger for today is ‘Low’. I got my phone out to take a photo and noticed the building in the background. It looked really familiar – some of you will recognize it too. I thought about it for a minute and realized that it is the restaurant where my cousin, Sean, and his wife, Amanda, had their rehearsal dinner several years ago. The name of the restaurant is The Old South Mountain Inn and it is in Boonsboro, MD.
Here’s a photo of the restaurant and the Smokey the Bear sign.

20130528-193051.jpg

20130528-193106.jpg

About The Man in My Shoes

Since retiring in 2012 I am enjoying the freedom of being able to make my own decisions about how I spend my time and am taking advantage of the opportunities that I have to spend more time with my family, explore, learn, and pursue my dreams and goals. I look forward to writing about these pursuits and hope you enjoy reading about them.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to This Place Looks Familiar!

  1. Annette says:

    You are in Maryland now! That seems like a long way away…..don’t recall ever being in that state. At the the time you were at that restaurant several years ago, I bet you had no idea that you were close to the Appalachian Trail.

  2. george jordan (Jay) says:

    A few of us go to the South Mountain Inn and love it (or course we drive 🙂 ) but good to know we can walk to the restaurant and Inn in one day.

Leave a Reply

