Harper’s Ferry to The Free State Hostel

Today I walked further than any day so far, 31.5 miles. I didn’t plan to walk so far but i started at 7:00 a.m. and the trail conditions and weather were so good that I just kept going until 6:00 p.m.
As I left Harper’s Ferry I crossed over the Potomac River footbridge into Maryland and then walked for several miles in the C&O Canal Towpath. I passed several interesting monuments including one to war correspondents at Gathland State Park and another to George Washington at Washington Monument State Park.
I ended the day at The Free State Hiker Hostel which is in the home of 2006 AT thru-hiker Ken Berry. Ken works as a physician’s assistant and when he hiked the AT he raised over $20,000 for the Hagerstown Community Free Clinic.
Tomorrow morning I will cross into Pennsylvania, which is known for its extremely rocky trails. I have no idea how far I’ll go tomorrow but it’s not likely to be as far as I went today.
Here’s a photo of the bridge I crossed over the Potomac River this morning.

20130528-202320.jpg

About The Man in My Shoes

Since retiring in 2012 I am enjoying the freedom of being able to make my own decisions about how I spend my time and am taking advantage of the opportunities that I have to spend more time with my family, explore, learn, and pursue my dreams and goals. I look forward to writing about these pursuits and hope you enjoy reading about them.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Harper’s Ferry to The Free State Hostel

  1. David Hansen says:

    Tim,
    That is flying! Bunny and I were beat after our 11 miles!

    Sent from my iPhone

  2. Juane Miller says:

    I think those Shorty cookies and the budweiser gave you the extra stamina for today. Loved hearing all your stories and spending time with you yesterday.

  3. Annette says:

    Tim, you were moving right along. I can’t imagine walking that fast. You must have really been in the zone, so to speak. Enjoy your hike tomorrow and can’t wait to hear how it goes.

  4. Lyndsay sacre says:

    Good going Tim, you are going to be so fit at the end of this, no holding you back….(good luck Cathy)!!

  5. Tom O'Neill says:

    Hi Tim!
    Man you are moving! Great job amigo. When I’m not pulling gear for Steve, I really enjoy photography. From that, I follow lots of photographers on tumblr and I think I accidentally stumbled onto Postman’s blog over there this morning.
    http://foggymountainbreakdown.tumblr.com/post/51604181436/back-on-northern-soil-hikers-are-coming
    He’s seems to be a day or so ahead of you. He’s got some great photos on tumblr which has a nice iPhone app if you don’t already have it. It also seems he took a nasty fall on the rocky section of Pa. trail your starting on today. Be careful! He posted a gnarly shot of a bleeding knee. Anyhow at 31.5 miles in one day I can’t imagine anyone’s going to be ahead of you for long! Stay strong and be safe. Looking forward to your next installment.
    Tom-O

    • Tom, I’m sorry to hear about Postman hurting his knee but glad you found his blog and photo on Tumblr. I saw him on Memorial Day in Harper’s Ferry. He was heading back to the trail just as I was getting in, so he’s a day ahead of me. He’s hiking with a guy named Buffalo who I met the third day on the trail about 20 miles south of Hiawasee. They’re really strong hikers so it’s not likely that I’ll catch them unless they slow down to rest Postman’s knee. I’ll have to check out the Tumblr app and see if I can figure it out.

  6. Theodora says:

    You are getting faster and faster, Walker! Good for you! 🙂 Thank you for the picturesque photos, this way we all travel with you!

Leave a Reply

