Terrapin Station to Rod Hollow Shelter

Yesterday I had planned to slack pack out of Terrapin Station Hostel but changed my mind and decided to hike out with my pack. The weather was sunny, cool and windy.
Because of the holiday weekend there were lots of other backpackers and day hikers and also lots of trail magic. I got trail magic at three different locations! At one spot, near where the AT passes under Interstate 66, three different people had left coolers with snacks and drinks. A thru-hiker who I had never met before named Cody Coyote was sitting in a chair with his shoes and socks off looking pretty rough. He said that he had drunk three beers already. I grabbed a Gatorade, an apple and a couple if granola bars and kept going.
The best trail magic came late in the day at Ashby Gap where a big group of wilderness search and rescue teams from D.C, Northern Virginia and West Virginia had set up canopies and chairs in a parking lot. They were cooking hot dogs, had lots of chips with salsas and dips, and a huge selection of desserts. They also had candy, energy bars and cookies for us to take when we left. There was a charging station for cell phones and other electronics. I even had one of the medical people check a spot on the back of my leg where I had removed a tick a few days ago. He said it looked fine and there was no sign of Lyme disease.
After the trail magic I hiked the final 3.6 miles to Rod Hollow and set up my tent in the Sam area as two thru-hikers I met at the hostel, Two Speed and Mack, and a family of four from Pennsylvania who are hiking the AT in sections.
I had hiked 27.5 miles, more than I planned, but felt good and will have a shorter day today. My destination is the Blackburn AT Center which is a combination of an AT historical center and a hostel/campground. Then tomorrow – Harper’s Ferry!
Today is my Mom’s birthday…Happy Birthday, Mom! I love you and I’ll call later.

20130526-061336.jpg

About The Man in My Shoes

Since retiring in 2012 I am enjoying the freedom of being able to make my own decisions about how I spend my time and am taking advantage of the opportunities that I have to spend more time with my family, explore, learn, and pursue my dreams and goals. I look forward to writing about these pursuits and hope you enjoy reading about them.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Terrapin Station to Rod Hollow Shelter

  1. Annette says:

    Thank you, Tim, for singing to me this morning. It’s been a great birthday!!! I love you. Mom

  2. Theodora says:

    Aw, so sweet! 🙂 Happy Birthday to your mom! For many more years – cheers! 🙂

Leave a Reply

