1000 Miles…So Long Virginia!

I just passes the 1000 mile mark – Yippee! Then 1.5 miles later I passed the VA/WV border. Almost halfway…

20130526-125922.jpg

About The Man in My Shoes

Since retiring in 2012 I am enjoying the freedom of being able to make my own decisions about how I spend my time and am taking advantage of the opportunities that I have to spend more time with my family, explore, learn, and pursue my dreams and goals. I look forward to writing about these pursuits and hope you enjoy reading about them.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to 1000 Miles…So Long Virginia!

  1. Jennifer Narron says:

    I’ve been reading your posts to the boys, calling them ‘letters’.
    Me: Boys! Uncle Tim has now hiked 1,000 miles!!
    Dylan: On feet??!!
    Me: Yes, on foot.
    Dylan: Well…is he gonna come back??
    I got a little chuckle out of that and hope you do, too. Congrats on hitting the half-way point!

  2. Jan Plumb says:

    Congrats! Keep on walkin’!

  3. Tom O'Neill says:

    Hi Walker! So yesterday (5/25) I’m flying down the eastern side of the Shenandoah Valley when I say to my buddy Steve, hey that’s Harrisonburg, my wife is from there… and he says “look close because my big brother is walking the AT somewhere down there”. Well I spent last night catching up to you on the trail from Nov 2012 till today. I have enjoyed reading your posts and look forward to following you along the way from here on. Tomorrow I’ll be headed north again and will look for you down below. By the way your little brother is a great guy, especially for an Air Force pilot, you an I both know that the best aviators wear Gold Wings ;). I look forward to your adventures and wish you luck! Be safe amigo!
    Tom-O

    • Tom, I probably heard you guys flying overhead. I’m just west of Dulles now and hear a lot of air traffic. Glad to know that you’ll be following the blog. Steve is a really good guy and I have to take at least partial credit (or blame) for him going Air Force. I informed about the different quality of lifestyles of Navy and Air Force aviators and he made his choice. It worked out real well for him. Fly safe!

  4. Annette says:

    Congratulations, Tim. It was just the other day you had hiked 800 miles. You are really moving fast. That was so cute what Dylan said. Your Happy Birthday song was great from atop the AT roller coaster. Thanks soooo much. Love, Mom.

  5. This is great! The AT is making the Camino look like short trek after 1000 miles. I LOVE Dylan’s “is he coming bank?”!!! That’s a keeper.

  6. Theodora says:

    Congratulations for passing the first 1000 miles! 🙂

  7. Lyndsay sacre says:

    Congrats Τim!!

Leave a Reply

