The Long Green Tunnel

Some AT hikers refer to the trail as ‘the long green tunnel’ when the leaves have filled out on the trees and provide a canopy overhead. I think the tunnel is almost completely formed (see photo below).
It is nice to have the shade that the tunnel provides but it limits the views except at rocky overlooks. Yesterday’s hike was a lot of ups and downs with only a few scenic overlooks. The highlight of the day came in the late afternoon when I stopped at the Lewis Mountain Campground Store and had an early dinner of a sandwich, Route 11 potato chips, and ice cream bar and a bottle of Gatorade. It was a real treat! One of the neat things about this hike is that the simplest things provide great pleasure. I stayed at the store for almost an hour eating on the bench outside the store and talking to the manager, Randy, who had been a college track coach and now lives in Luray, VA. The campground was pretty busy and a few other customers came in while I was there. Randy said that by Friday the campground will be full for Memorial Day Weekend.
The weather has been very nice for the past two days with sunny skies and warm temperatures. In fact, it gets pretty hot in the middle of the day but the nights are very mild. According to the weather report e’re about to get some bad weather, though, so I need to be prepared for that.
I am keeping my daily mileage as close to twenty as possible and it feels good. Because of the varying distances between shelters and campsites I sometimes have to walk a little further but I can stay close to twenty.
Today I am headed to Byrd’s Nest #3 Hut – in Shenandoah National Park they call shelters ‘huts’. It’s about 22.4 miles away. If the weather gets bad, though, I will probably cut it short.

20130522-103303.jpg

About The Man in My Shoes

Since retiring in 2012 I am enjoying the freedom of being able to make my own decisions about how I spend my time and am taking advantage of the opportunities that I have to spend more time with my family, explore, learn, and pursue my dreams and goals. I look forward to writing about these pursuits and hope you enjoy reading about them.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to The Long Green Tunnel

  1. Annette says:

    Hiking in this idyllic photo scene looks so peaceful. Glad you enjoyed your dinner and talking with Randy so much. Have a great day today.

  2. Almost finished reading Cheryl Strayed’s book “Wild”. The PCT sounds vastly different from your AT experience. A movie is supposed to be made both on “Wild” and Bryson’s “A Walk in the Woods”. Going to these movies will be about as close as I’ll ever go to walking either trail!

Leave a Reply

