This Takes the Cake!

Princess reporting. This morning I bid adieu to Whiskers and Rocket when I dropped them and Walker off. Walker will be home again this evening as he has two days to catch up on from getting off the trail this past weekend, and they are continuing on their NoBo (northbound) journey. It was hard saying goodbye. They spent nine nights at our house (even when we were away for three of them) and felt like part of the family. They rank among the Best Houseguests Ever! In addition to just being nice people, they brought our kitchen to a new level of tidiness, bought groceries and gifts, helped out with everything, and filled the car with gas. There is more food in the refrigerator (thanks to them) than was here when they arrived. All of this while I was trying to be a Trail Angel…I couldn’t do anything that wasn’t reciprocated.

As if all of the above wasn’t enough, this morning the mailman delivered a box direct from Concord Teacakes, the Massachusetts bakery owned by Whisker’s mother. Inside was a treasure trove of treats including currant and cinnamon scones, granola bars (with the recipe!), iced shortbread cookies (the kind that are almost too pretty to eat), white chocolate pistachio cookies and a loaf of the bakery’s famous Emily Dickinson Raisin Brandycake. I find the Boston Strong cookie especially meaningful as this morning in the car we discussed how today marked one month since the Boston Marathon bombings.

Even though they remarked about how friendly and kind they found Southerners to be, I don’t think we have a thing on them! I hope I’ll see them again. I’m hoping Walker and they finish at the same time!

Farewell for now.

Farewell for now.

DSC_0761

The note read Thank you from Andy and Maddy.
Now you know their real names!

About The Man in My Shoes

Since retiring in 2012 I am enjoying the freedom of being able to make my own decisions about how I spend my time and am taking advantage of the opportunities that I have to spend more time with my family, explore, learn, and pursue my dreams and goals. I look forward to writing about these pursuits and hope you enjoy reading about them.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to This Takes the Cake!

  1. David Hansen says:

    Princess/Walker,

    Thx for a great evening Monday! What a treat. Bunny and I feel equipped to tackle our little adventure. Whiskers and Rocket were special kids, and you guys make great trail parents. I don’t think the story with them will end there.

    All the best Dave

    Sent from my iPhone

  2. Annette says:

    The “Boston Strong” cookie is most meaningful, and the “Emily Dickinson Raisin Brandy Bread” (if I read it correctly) looks appetizing. Just goes to show that northern folks are just as nice, friendly and generous as southern folks. I know this young couple and their trail parents will always be a big part of their AT adventure.

  3. Theodora says:

    πŸ™‚ Angels found Angels! πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

