Another Great Day…

The weather was terrific again yesterday. We only planned a 16-mile hike because I needed to finish early and drive with the Princess to Richmond to visit our son Jeff and his wife Bri. We were able to ‘hike with a purpose’ and averaged well over three miles per hour, even with several stops for snacks and talking to other hikers we met along the trail.

We ran into Butch and Sundance, the young men from Yorkshire, England, and some of their hiking friends and when we stopped for lunch at a shelter we met YOLO (You Only Live Once) from Germany who told us that last year he had section-hiked from Springer Mountain, Georgia to Marion, Virginia and this year he was hiking from Marion to Harpers Ferry, West Virginia. He added that Harpers Ferry is as far as he’s going on the AT because it was just too hard and he was too old to do the entire trail. He said that, “This is not for old men”. I took exception to this (in a nice way) because he looked to be in his 40’s, about ten years younger than me. I hope that YOLO changes his mind and comes back in future years to finish the AT.

We finished the hike before 2:00 and headed back to Lexington. Whiskers and Rocket stopped by Kroger to get some groceries and for the weekend. They’re going to continue to slackpack from our house while the Princess and I are visiting Jeff and Bri in Richmond and then going to Norfolk to visit the Princess’ mother, Jackie, for a few days. Whiskers has been coordinating with local Rockbridge hiker, Ken Hawkins, who will shuttle them to their starting point each day and then pick them up at the end of the day. Ken is an AT section hiker, trail angel and generally great guy and it’s really nice of him to support Whiskers and Rocket while we’re gone.

I forgot my phone/camera so was not able to take any pictures of the day’s hike but Whiskers took this one of me and a friendly cow as we crossed a cattle farm…

Image

 

About The Man in My Shoes

Since retiring in 2012 I am enjoying the freedom of being able to make my own decisions about how I spend my time and am taking advantage of the opportunities that I have to spend more time with my family, explore, learn, and pursue my dreams and goals. I look forward to writing about these pursuits and hope you enjoy reading about them.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Another Great Day…

  1. Theodora says:

    🙂 🙂 🙂

Leave a Reply

