No Slackers Here!

DSC_0743Princess here…you’ve probably read that Walker has been day hiking with Whiskers and Rocket, then they come home at night to sleep. It’s called “slacking’ in trail lingo, but these guys are far from slackers – at least as far as being house guests goes! In addition to being constantly helpful and appreciative, smart and kind, look what I was greeted with when I came home from knitting the other night. A full array of groceries! All of our favorites…wine, cereal, cookies (direct from Whisker’s mother’s bakery Concord Teacakes in Mass.), English muffins (not pictured) and locally roasted coffee. What a treat! Most special is a poem Whiskers wrote and Rocket illustrated. I hope you can see the drawing in the photo; here’s what the poem says:

While hiking through life, you meet many folks

Some are quite funny, some never tell jokes

A few give and give, others just take

Many are quite genuine, others are fake

But only once in a while do you meet two so kind

And from past experience, one thing we did find

Never miss a chance to say thanks, or appreciation to give

For it is friends like the two of you that help make life so worthwhile to live.

To steal a line – For it is friends like the two of you that help make life so worthwhile to live.- Whiskers and Rocket, the feeling is mutual. Thank you.

About The Man in My Shoes

Since retiring in 2012 I am enjoying the freedom of being able to make my own decisions about how I spend my time and am taking advantage of the opportunities that I have to spend more time with my family, explore, learn, and pursue my dreams and goals. I look forward to writing about these pursuits and hope you enjoy reading about them.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to No Slackers Here!

  1. Natalie says:

    What a wonderful poem…and oh how true! We are all lucky when we find kind spirits in this world!

  2. MarySue Curran says:

    Beautiful and so true!

  3. Annette says:

    Lovely guests and hosts! You will be friends always.

  4. Theodora Houry says:

    I can add – Princess and Walker are very special folks indeed! I believe that nice people meet nice people wherever they go! Bless you, friends! 🙂

Leave a Reply

