These guys…

Walker copy…are Dedicated Nuts! Princess here reporting because everyone else in my house has lost all sanity. This morning, in two vehicles, Walker, Whiskers, Rocket and I left home just after 7 a.m. to drive over one hour in the pouring rain to drop off one vehicle (Walker’s truck) in the parking lot at Dragon’s Tooth. There was only one other car in the lot with a guy sitting in it whom we all deemed sketchy. So sketchy that we wrote down his license plate number and a description of his car in case the truck wasn’t there when they return. Or, the truck, but no wheels…you get the idea. All in one car now, we proceeded on another 30 minutes down winding country roads through rain, lightning and thunder so I could I dump leave them in Newport where I had met Walker Sunday evening – the same place where Walker picked Whiskers and Rocket up yesterday. They were excited?! to walk 26 miles today with only their day packs. Despite out best efforts to dry them overnight, Whisker’s and Rocket’s shoes were still wet this morning. I felt bad for them, but I guess it didn’t really matter as they would have been wet again in short time.

It’s been in the 50’s here today with rain most of the day. I heard on the radio that the schools in the county they are hiking in closed early because of the rain. I expect they will be home late this evening. There’s a pot of vegetarian chili waiting for them and a pound cake in the oven. I also made pimento cheese for their lunch tomorrow; figured it’s time to show these New Englanders some real southern hospitality!

About The Man in My Shoes

Since retiring in 2012 I am enjoying the freedom of being able to make my own decisions about how I spend my time and am taking advantage of the opportunities that I have to spend more time with my family, explore, learn, and pursue my dreams and goals. I look forward to writing about these pursuits and hope you enjoy reading about them.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to These guys…

  1. Doug Dowdy says:

    So where in the thru hike hand book does it say that since you are already slacking you can’t postpone one day to avoid some of the worst weather you have encountered this far

    Where?

    • Doug, they say, “If you wanna get to Maine, you gotta walk in the rain.” It was a really hard day yesterday but mostly because of the combination of wind, rain and temperature. It’s hard to keep your body temp right when you’re going up and down mountains – if you get sweaty under your rain shell, you get almost as wet as if you weren’t wearing it. Fortunately, there was no lighting close by, only occasional distant rumbles of thunder. I hope you and Frances have a great time at the beach and I’m sorry we won’t get to hike together this time. We’ll definitely do it later. I’m scouting out lots of good ones for us!

  2. Annette says:

    Good question, Doug. Is this supposed to be required for the authentic AT experience? The Princess is either an enabler or a Saint. Even with all that tough ‘tude, I think she is a Saint.

  3. Deb and Rob says:

    We are enjoying the blog! Just to let you know Uncle Timmy we are going to have a zip line at Bells Island so glad to know you have experience. See you soon!

  4. Theodora says:

    Princess you are an Angel… 🙂

  5. It does sound a little nutty. My feet hurt just reading about their misery….I mean adventure.

Leave a Reply

