The Captain’s to Sinking Creek

My motivation was high yesterday morning as I packed up and I got ready to hike twenty miles to Sinking Creek, VA to meet the Princess. I was the first one across the zip line and back on the trail. There was no drama on the zip line this time. The hike was pretty typical, a long climb to get back up to the high elevation of the mountains and a long ridge walk. At about the twelve mile point there was a long descent followed by a long climb (2000″). When I reached the top of the climb the wind was blowing hard and I had to stop and put on my rain jacket, rain pants, wool hat, and gloves. A thick cloud cover rolled in which, along with the wind, made for a cool hike.

I maintained an easy pace because I knew that the Princess would not be at the meeting spot until 6:30 pm. Even at a slow pace I reached VA Route 42 at Sinking Creek at about 5:00, so I got comfortable on the side of the road, ate some of my remaining food and stretched a little bit to pass the time. A couple of people stopped to ask if I needed a ride, which was really nice of them, but I explained that I was waiting for my wife.

The Princess arrived right at 6:30 and she was pooped from the long drive from Florida in rain storms and traffic jams, so I got behind the wheel and drove the rest of the way home. We stopped at Don Tequila’s Mexican restaurant once we got to Lexington to celebrate Cinqo de Mayo, then drove on home. It was great to be with her and great to be in my own home!

About The Man in My Shoes

Since retiring in 2012 I am enjoying the freedom of being able to make my own decisions about how I spend my time and am taking advantage of the opportunities that I have to spend more time with my family, explore, learn, and pursue my dreams and goals. I look forward to writing about these pursuits and hope you enjoy reading about them.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to The Captain’s to Sinking Creek

  1. Lyndsay sacre says:

    It’s good to be able to appreciate these things from time to time. 😊

  2. andy says:

    Nice you get to stay in your own home on your journey. Say hello to Princess for me or if you’re reading Princess how the hell are ya? My other half is now on the Camino at Navarette a d having a great time. No blog unfortunately. Keep trekking matey !

  3. Theodora Houry says:

    I envy you for the Princess – she seems to be a great girl!!! hehehe 🙂

Leave a Reply

