Hiker Nirvana!

Check this out…
20130503-185840.jpg
A Pizza Hut and a Dollar General located side by side in Pearisburg, VA! If the laundromat was located next door I would call it a hat trick. But the EZ Way Laundromat is located a few blocks away. I went there first (work before pleasure) and did my laundry for the first time in a week. Now I’m at Pizza Hut waiting for my large Bacon Cheeseburger Thin and Crispy pizza. Next stop, Dollar General to pick up just enough food to get me to Sunday afternoon.
The Princess is going to meet me in Newport, VA on Sunday as she returns from her latest trip to Florida. Since it will be May 5th, Cinco de Mayo, we’re going to our favorite local Mexican restaurant to celebrate. That will be fun!
Then I’ll be able to slack pack from home for a while. What that means is that I get to sleep in my own bed, eat real meals, and every morning the Princess and I will work a two-car shuttle…leave my truck at the end point of my day’s hike and she’ll drive me to the start point. I’ll hike about eight hours a day then drive home – kind of like a day at work. Another benefit is that I won’t have to carry my regular pack, just a daypack with rain gear, snacks and water.
To summarize today’s hike…it started out with about an hour of climbing followed by hours and hours of hiking along ridges with great views (see photos below). About 11:00 I stopped by Woods Hole Hostel and talked to the folks there. Neville, who runs the hostel with her husband Michael, is the granddaughter of the original owner who bought the property when he was in graduate school at Virginia Tech. He later lived in Atlanta and then served in the Carter Administration as the Secretary of the Interior, according to Neville. While I was there I had a great milkshake and some fresh bread and cheese. The hostel has a Facebook page if you want to see photos and learn more.
The rest of the day was just beautiful ridge hiking, though the trail was pretty rocky, and then a long descent into Pearisburg. You can see the mountain I walked down to get to town in the Pizza Hut photo. It seems that trail towns are always at the bottom long descent and the when you leave you have a long climb back up to the mountains.
Here are some views from today.

20130503-191534.jpg

20130503-191834.jpg

About The Man in My Shoes

Since retiring in 2012 I am enjoying the freedom of being able to make my own decisions about how I spend my time and am taking advantage of the opportunities that I have to spend more time with my family, explore, learn, and pursue my dreams and goals. I look forward to writing about these pursuits and hope you enjoy reading about them.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Hiker Nirvana!

  1. Doug Dowdy says:

    Let me know when you want some trail company

    I’m usually Good Friday-Monday
    Doug

  2. Annette says:

    It would have been nice to stay at Woods Hole Hostel if the timing had worked. It is a beautiful retreat, and Neville and Michael have expanded the service for everyone to enjoy. I bet you are looking forward to some fresh from the garden veggies and grilling. That snake was huge!! Was it a harmless black snake? Keep trekking….and blogging.

    • Yes, it was a harmless black snake – but a huge one. I was interested in staying at Woods Hole but they have three cats and I’m allergic to cats. In fact Neville said she used to be allergic too but got help from an acupuncturist. She gave me some advice about that – if only I could find an acupuncturist in Lexington.

      Sent from my iPhone.

  3. Steve says:

    Welcome home, Walker! Great to know you are in Lexington, at least for a few nights! We have lacrosse obligations Monday and Wednesday, but maybe we can catch a glimpse of you while you’re in the neighborhood. I’ll call Princess and see if it might work out!

Leave a Reply

