Walker Gap to Helvey Mills Shelter

Trail conditions were great yesterday and I made good time. For the smoothest twelve miles of the day I averaged four miles per hour which is much faster than normal.
At noon I called Nigel who runs the Fort Bastian Hostel and he said that he was full but some people were tenting on his property and I could do the same. I decided to just stay on the trail and continue to the Helvey Mills Shelter. Bastian is a very small town and on Friday I’ll be in Pearisburg which has more restaurants and stores.
Except for the fact that i made such good time, it was a pretty uneventful day on the trail. i did see a funny sight…someone used their broken sunglasses to make trail art (see photo). I have seen many discarded items on the trail going all the way back to the first day in Georgia: a day pack, a dog pack, cotton socks, heavy jackets, headphones, shoes, hats, and food items. There is much of that now, so far along on the trail.
At about the 20 mile point yesterday I came across a nice Thermarest sit pad that someone had lest by the trail. I was pretty sure that someone had accidentally left it, rather than discarded it, so I picked it up and attached it to the top of my pack thinking i might find the owner. Sure enough, as soon as I got to the shelter a woman asked, “Sir, did you find that pad in the trail?” She was very thankful to have it back!
Today I plan to hike another 24 miles and it looks likes the trail conditions will continue to be good. Hopefully the weather, which has been very nice, will be good too.

20130502-060808.jpg

About The Man in My Shoes

Since retiring in 2012 I am enjoying the freedom of being able to make my own decisions about how I spend my time and am taking advantage of the opportunities that I have to spend more time with my family, explore, learn, and pursue my dreams and goals. I look forward to writing about these pursuits and hope you enjoy reading about them.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Walker Gap to Helvey Mills Shelter

  1. andy says:

    Not quite caught up with your backlog of posts but here’s a thought for you –
    “Take it hip to hip rocket through the wilderness”

    Sure you know that one ?

  2. Annette says:

    Love the trail art…..hikers are creative souls. You are a good Samaritan, too. Hope your hike today was great. Sally asked about you. She leaves next week for Spanish immersion classes in Playa Samara, Puerto Rico. She has been studying Spanish via Skype with a teacher in Venezuela.

Leave a Reply

