Rusty and Toast!

Today I got a big surprise! I left Damascus after enjoying a pimento cheese sandwich and Gatorade at Cowboy’s diner/convenience store/gas station. I think the cook there liked me because one of the pieces of whole wheat bread on my sandwich was the heel. She probably thought I needed the extra vitamins!
Anyway, that’s not the surprise…about mid-afternoon I came upon a young couple having a snack on the side of the trail and lo and behold it was Russell Trimmer and his girlfriend Ellie. Russell is from my adopted hometown of Lexington, Virginia and I know his parents. His mother, Amy DeHart, and I both worked at VMI until I retired last summer. Russell (Rusty) and Ellie (Toast) are recent graduates of the University of Pennsylvania and are hiking the trail before getting on with the rest of their lives. They are like many of the 20-somethings I’ve met in the trail who are taking an opportunity in their lives to do something awesome. We had dinner together at the Lost Mountain Shelter and I enjoyed watching them prepare their vegetarian couscous. It looked really good with all of the vegetables and spices that they used. It was great to see them and I hope to see more of them on the trail.
Would someone in Lexington please let Amy know that I saw Russell and he’s doing fine and eating well…

20130427-083235.jpg

About The Man in My Shoes

Since retiring in 2012 I am enjoying the freedom of being able to make my own decisions about how I spend my time and am taking advantage of the opportunities that I have to spend more time with my family, explore, learn, and pursue my dreams and goals. I look forward to writing about these pursuits and hope you enjoy reading about them.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Rusty and Toast!

  1. Jennifer says:

    It’s a small world! Glad you are having such a great time 🙂

  2. Annette says:

    What a happy surprise meeting someone you know from Lexington. That was sweet of the lady to make you a sandwich made with the heel of the bread. Now, some uppity folks would have complained, but I love the heel…it’s a guilty pleasure. Can’t waste food. Have another great day hiking with more happy surprises.

  3. John in Milwaukee says:

    I think pimento cheese and gatorade are illegal in some states. good stuff shoes.

  4. Tara says:

    Hey Tim: I’ll mention this to neighbor Amy next time I see her. Tara

  5. I’ve emailed Morris to let them know about Rusty and Toast. Was the pimento cheese as good as Blue Sky’s? Your mother will think I’m uppity when I tell her I’ve never liked the heel. I won’t throw it away, but will put the ‘yucky’ side on the inside so I don’t have to see it.

  6. Bob Gough says:

    Tim, – per your request I forwarded your post to Amy- Replied she was very appreciative! Hope all is well

  7. David Hansen says:

    Hi Tim! Did forward to Amy

    Sent from my iPhone

Leave a Reply

