It Has Been Said…

…that after a time on the Appalachian Trail, men look like prisoners of war, and women look like goddesses.

Princess here…It was great being able to spend the weekend with Walker! He doesn’t look much worse for the wear…although we all think he looks a bit thinner, but he says he’s ‘efficient’. I have to believe him as I marvel at how far he is walking everyday, and I can attest to the fact that he doesn’t have a single blister on his feet.

Our grandson Liam and I dropped Walker off in Roan Mountain, Tennessee this morning at the exact spot where he left off last week. They walked together to look for the box we left on the trail with “magic” I had baked and left – chocolate chip cookie bars and Penzey’s Everything Oatmeal Cookies. Alas, the plastic box was gone; I hope someone picked it up to refill it.

From Springer Mountain, Georgia to Katahdin, Maine, the Trail is 2,186.9 miles. I figure Liam has .1 under his belt now. That’s more than a lot of people I know!ImageImage

This photo reminds me of signs we saw along The Camino – except these were in English!

About The Man in My Shoes

Since retiring in 2012 I am enjoying the freedom of being able to make my own decisions about how I spend my time and am taking advantage of the opportunities that I have to spend more time with my family, explore, learn, and pursue my dreams and goals. I look forward to writing about these pursuits and hope you enjoy reading about them.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to It Has Been Said…

  1. Great to hear about the birthday surprise! Love the photo with Liam. Very sweet.

  2. Annette says:

    Be still my heart!!! Liam will see this priceless photo a few years from now, and say “I walked the AT with Poppy.” Princess’s cookie magic was enjoyed I know. Princess is a terrific cookie baker as well as photographer.

  3. lmconnors says:

    Super precious photos! What memories you are all making.

  4. Jim Karis says:

    Tim, the photos of you and Liam on the AP were touching and as time goes by will only appreciate. Every morning look forward reading your blog. It is refreashing especially after reading the bad news, bombing etc. Jim

  5. Theodora Houry says:

    The little bunny is sooooo cute!!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

