Trail Magic and Max Patch

The first treat today was trail magic from trail angel “Apple” (see photo). He was set up at Brown Gap at mile 250.6 on the trail. Apple lives in Cincinnati and comes down to this section of the trail to do magic for six days at a time. He also helps maintain the trail as a member of the Nantahala Appalachian Trail Club. At Apple’s magic site I drank an Orange Crush and a bottle of water and ate a cinnamon bun, Chips Ahoy cookies, Oreos, Fritos and Cheetos and took a bottle of water and a pack of Oreos for the trail. Apple’s trail magic was completely unexpected and greatly appreciated.
The second treat of the day was arriving at Max Patch, an enormous bald with terrific 360 degree views.
Pig Pen and I made great time today on the smooth trails and arrived at our campsite about 5:00. We cooked our dinners the he showed me some useful knots for camping.
We were in our tents by 7:00 p.m with plans for an early wake-up so that we can start hiking at 5:00 a.m. and get to Hot Springs by 10:00 a.m. That means we’ll hike in the dark for a couple of hours before sunrise – should be interesting.
The weather is good so I’m going to sleep in my tent without the rain fly over it. I’ll be able to see the stars but not have to worry about the bugs. Yes, they seem to have come to life after two days of nice weather
Hot Springs in the morning, I’m looking forward to that!

20130411-121019.jpg

20130411-121210.jpg

About The Man in My Shoes

Since retiring in 2012 I am enjoying the freedom of being able to make my own decisions about how I spend my time and am taking advantage of the opportunities that I have to spend more time with my family, explore, learn, and pursue my dreams and goals. I look forward to writing about these pursuits and hope you enjoy reading about them.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Trail Magic and Max Patch

  1. Tell us more about Pig Pen, please!

  2. Annette says:

    I discern a distinct difference between Apple’s trail magic food and the ladies’ trail magic food early in your hike. And, they are both very good in their own way. It is heartening to know that trail magic folks are so generous and that the hikers really appreciate their paying it forward. Thanks for the interesting flash back and photos.

Leave a Reply

