Pig Pen

The Princess requested a little more info about Pig Pen, my hiking partner for about the past week, so here goes.
Pig Pen’s real name is Dan, he’s from Dalton, GA and he graduated from Georgia College this past December with degrees in Outdoor Education and Psychology. He was a scholarship athlete who ran cross country. He got the trail name Pig Pen after getting particularly muddy on one of his first days on the trail.
After completing his AT thru-hike, Pig Pen would like to work in the Outdoor Education field leading programs for kids, including at-risk kids who can learn/develop self-confidence, self-discipline, goal-setting, and other important life skills through challenging outdoor programs. I am sure that Pig Pen will help a lot of kids get their lives in the right track in the coming years.
Pig Pen began his AT hike carrying some of his grandmother’s ashes. He told me that she really loved the Smokey Mountains so he was going to spread her ashes on top of one of the highest mountains on the AT.
Here’s a photo of Pig Pen just before he spread her ashes near Rocky Top. He’s quite a remarkable young man and I hope to see him again on the trail.

20130411-191128.jpg

About The Man in My Shoes

Since retiring in 2012 I am enjoying the freedom of being able to make my own decisions about how I spend my time and am taking advantage of the opportunities that I have to spend more time with my family, explore, learn, and pursue my dreams and goals. I look forward to writing about these pursuits and hope you enjoy reading about them.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Pig Pen

  1. Theodora Houry says:

    What a good story! This is the real life!

Leave a Reply

